Care to venture a guess what this bird says to you?   61 comments

IMG_3809

IMG_3814

135

This bird tells you to “Go Away.”

It really does… “quare, quare quare” it will shout and that quare is pronounced “Go away…”

Wikipedia gives this short description of the bird…

The Grey Go-away-bird (Corythaixoides concolor), also known as Grey Lourie, Grey Loerie, or Kwêvoël, is a southern African bird of uniform grey with black beak and strikingly pink gape. It is widespread in savannah woodland, a clumsy flier though extremely agile in clambering through tree crowns. It has a distinctive loud alarm call "quare", fancifully sounding like "Go-away". The crest is raised when excited.

Its diet is mainly fruit (such as wild figs and berries), flowers, buds, leaves, termites, and snails. The habitat it occupies is dry open savannah woodlands, farms, parks, and suburban gardens, often near water.

So there you have it…

Posted July 1, 2014 by bulldog in Photography

Tagged with ,

61 responses to “Care to venture a guess what this bird says to you?

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I’d never seen this one, a unique looking bird, thanks for your educational posts!
    Brenda

  2. I’d heed what the bird is saying. This afternoon, while looking up from under the tree to look for the birds I heard chirping behind the leaves, I felt something drop on my nose. Good thing my glasses caught the best part of it. The birds I was looking at had a rather rude way of saying “go away!”

  3. You have some of the most interesting wildlife in your part of the world. Great images Bulldog. :)

  4. There you have it…fascinating!

  5. I bet most bird “calls” are really bird “get-outta-heres” to us people. They are really only calling to each other…

  6. We see many of those in our Village! I’m not a bird fundi, but I learn from the other “inhabitants” ;-)

  7. He’s kind of plain compared to some of your more colorful birds, but I like the little top feathers! And his tail feathers seem a little longer to me, too, but that may be only because at first appearance he reminds me of some of the doves in my backyard–mostly just the coloring. How clever, though, to have a human language. :-)

  8. it looks like our catbird here and it has a cat meow call too. Beautiful :)

  9. I need one of these at the front of my house for when relatives visit ;)

    Lovely shots, Rob xxx

    • Some one else said they need one of these on their door step and I wondered why… now I know why some of you want one…. we have them on our doorstep every day…. bad news it doesn’t work…

  10. we have a Morepork – small owl does the same thing – talk I mean, says “more pork, more pork”……… just you know what it is I guess LOL

  11. Interesting post.
    Glad things are OK on the health front, too.
    God’s Blessings!

  12. La cresta mi ricorda un pappagallo. Bellissime foto caro Bulldog!!
    Ciao, Pat

  13. Beautiful photos of him bulldog, thanks for the introduction! :D

  14. We used to get these in our garden in Jo’burg. Beautiful shots, bulldog. :)

  15. beautiful bird! even if he is a bit rude. :D

  16. It has a top like a cockatoo, or a cockatiel.

    • Now that is an interesting observation… the cockatoo family name is close to the go away’s but the cockateil is far off,,, I think if one went further into it one might just find a similarity in family hidden there some where…

  17. I love that little tuft on its head. :)

  18. Interesting bird.

  19. What a lovely bird! I love that tuft of feathers on it’s head.

  20. That is so cool bulldog! If someone did not know this and was walking around when this bird made that sound, well that could be very funny to watch the person’s reaction!
    Diana xo

  21. Beautiful images, my friend!

  22. Wish he would perch on my front porch! :) Great catches bulldog!

  23. He’s cute, I love the feathers on his head! Nice captures Bulldog. :)

  24. My daughter is walking around saying, “Go away….go away”. My son said, “Well, that’s not nice.” She replied, “Oh, I am only imitating Bulldog’s bird.” :D

    I love that you are a household name here. :)

  25. I love his plume! (We have great blue herons here. They have a long yellow plume that I’m crazy about.).

  26. I learn something new nearly every day with your blog – nice one Rob.

    Brian (aka Golfspice)
  27. Well, that’s not a very friendly birdy. How does he think he’s going to get a mate with that kind of attitude? LOL!!

  28. How interesting!

All comments are welcome... please...Write something.. go on, let your voice be heard...

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 792 other followers

