One I think We All Know… the Egyptian Goose.   66 comments

This bird or goose seems to have entrenched itself all over the world… this might have been because it was taken to places it not normally habituates…. But one thing is for sure it is pretty well entrenched all over Africa…

This goose is not loved by all, very few in fact, but shame I thought I’d give it a little publicity…

tania 165

029

And some little ones….

sun 17-07-2011 116

sun 17-07-2011 117

Clean up time…

sun 17-07-2011 121

What is up there.?????????

Tania rietvlei 01-08-12 063

One of its enemies…..!!!!

sun 17-07-2011 071

The Fish Eagle…..

Posted July 3, 2014 by bulldog in Photography

Tagged with

66 responses to “One I think We All Know… the Egyptian Goose.

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. You know, Rob, I’ve never heard of a Fish Eagle or an Egyptian Goose. I am introduced to so many new creatures by way of your shares! I love the aerial photo with the water droplets. That’s a keeper! :-)

  2. They look gorgeous in the water. :-)

  3. I’ve been chased by an angry goose, Rob. But I love the pics – they’re cuter at a distance! :D

  4. The goslings are so cute!

  5. Geese are definitely not our favorites here, but my little one says the pink legs makes up for the rest. :) Awesome shots, Bulldog!

  6. Interesting, I have not seen this fellow before and we have a real variety in my part of the country. The little guys are really cute.

  7. It sounds like a goose is a goose regardless of whether it’s Egyptian or Canadian. I heard them described once as Flying Cows because all they do is eat and poop … a lot …. everywhere.

  8. I’ve only seen Canadian Geese. And – they leave poop all over my back yard if given the chance…

  9. In effetti non è molto bella questa oca, però non capisco perché non sia amata, è pur sempre un animale e come tale deve essere amato. Troppo facile amare solo i belli :-)
    Ciao, Patrizia

  10. Great photos o these geese. They wouldn’t win any beauty competitions, but the babies are cute. :)

  11. The funnies looking bird :) I would be among those that love it :) Cool captures, Rob :)

  12. I’ve never seen one of these! I love the ones crossing the river. :)

  13. The first time I saw an Egyptian Goose was last winter in Texas. Hubby and I had to Google to figure out what it was. Always love seeing little ones :-)

  14. I have seen none of these type of geese in Colchester in the UK, the Canada Geese occasionally make an appearance.

  15. I haven’t seen this one around here. Interesting looking though.

  16. I don’t know the Egyptian Goose, so thanks for introducing us. ;) Great captures once again, I especially like the ones with the babies. :)

  17. Love the babes on the water. Always fascinating to watch wildlife with their young.

  18. Why is this bird not liked bulldog? Great shots, as per usual!
    Diana xo

    • It is the damage they do on Golf Courses that makes most of us hate them… but they also tend to dominate the ponds displacing the other ducks smaller than them…

  19. For a moment I thought he was giving you the side eye LOL Great shots.

  20. Why is it not loved? It’s a pretty bird and unless it uninvitedly took over your water feature, what could it do to annoy anyone?

    Haha, never mind…just saw your golf course comments. ;-)

  21. babies so lovely :) amazing photographs. Thank you dear Rob, have a nice day, love, nia

  22. Love the one in the water…and the babies of course! Geese aren’t my favourite either but your photographs make them look really sweet :-)

  23. I’m sure we have these in Britain. The little ones are cute whether or not liked when older. Geese can leave a real mess though where they congregate in large numbers as I witnessed yesterday on local parkland.

    Brian (aka Golfspice)
    • They are pretty well hated on golf courses due to their spreading of foreign grasses on greens where they love to congregate.. Here they are especially prevalent spreaders of Poa Annua grasses, definitely not wanted on bent or any other of our SA greens grasses… and there is nothing worse than getting on the green for two to discover a big turd drop directly on your line… you can remove it but it still sticks to your ball…

  24. We love the Egyptian goose. He has a unique sound and hisses like me. This year we have more of them than before, so the population is spreading here too. As always beautiful photos and captions. Pawkisses for a Happy Day :)

    • Thank you… I wouldn’t mind them at all if they just stayed off the golf course where they tend to do their business on the greens and spread so many foreign grass seed

  25. Nice collections of pictures. Very nicely captured. (Suzanne)

  26. I think they are quite sweet! … with their red legs….

  27. aw it’s lovely – the chicks super cute. I like the dark around the eye – makes it look more interesting. Agree with Anneli perhaps it is the pink legs – when you first see it, but it is actually quite lovely. Gets my vote!

  28. Not liked? really? I think it’s very cute and goosey!

  29. Maybe it’s the pink legs that make it look a bit funny, but once it’s in the water, it looks pretty good. Wonder why it’s not loved….

  30. Hi Rob ~ I have not been on WP regularly and have missed your great images with fun commentary. Love the little ones!

All comments are welcome... please...Write something.. go on, let your voice be heard...

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 797 other followers

