Bushbuck or bosbok…

The bushbuck ( Tragelaphus scriptus ) is a small antelope in Africa , found south of the Sahara.

Adult bushbuck are an average weight of 70 kg and a height of 90 cm. The rams have horns up to 55 cm in length.

Bushbuck are not easily spotted, because they frequent dense forest areas and along rivers banks

The female gestation period is six to seven months, when a single lamb is born in the spring or summer. Bushbuck have a potential lifespan of nine years.

These, a mother and her young paid us a visit in the camp… casually walked past us….

Mon 25-07-2011 304

Mon 25-07-2011 303

Mon 25-07-2011 302

Mon 25-07-2011 301

23 thoughts on “Bushbuck or bosbok…

  1. Wonderful photos again, bdt. They look quite unperturbed by your presence. Such sweet creatures. 😉
    There’s a contest challenge on my latest post for you. It has to be done and entered by 29th August. Sorry it’s such short notice, but I know you can do it.

  2. When I initially saw this on my phone, I thought they were deer (so many here)… but Antelope! So interesting..and very beautiful and seemingly gentle. You got some great expressions in your wonderful captures bulldog… I think all of these creatures just love you. 🙂 x

    • I remember telling Suzanne that we had an antelope that looked very similar to the deer that she captures, just ours don’t have the antlers… I have a few photos of Nyala another antelope that’s very similar… which I will be posting some day soon… Thanks for the complement… and if they love me half as much as I love them it’s great…

  3. When I was on safari most recently, one of these came to visit me as I was sitting on the patio of our chalet. She got very close, but didn’t seem to be looking for food. Seems they’re very social animals. 🙂 I love the last picture.

    • Yes at a couple of the camps in the Kruger they are all around in the camps… maybe for the good grass growth all year round and also the possible feeling of being safer from the predators… I have had them quite close and grazing, not the least worried about our proximity… obviously quite tame…

  4. Looks like they have a naughty streak. Hmmm, do you think they bite? Nah probably leave a mess behind, you step in it and they giggle behind your back. Great pics though, looks like you can reach out and pet them (please don’t bite, please don’t bite…)

All comments are welcome... please...Write something.. go on, let your voice be heard...

