The Egyptian Goose…

The Egyptian Goose (Alopochen aegyptiacus) is a member of the duck, goose, and swan family Anatidae. It is native to Africa south of the Sahara and the Nile Valley, and has been introduced to parts of Western Europe.

Egyptian Geese were considered sacred by the ancient Egyptians, and appeared in much of their artwork.

Some photos..

2006_0611incomming0043

2006_0611incomming0026

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2006_0611incomming0034

2006_0611incomming0024

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2006_0611incomming0141

 

2006_0611incomming0042

2006_0924incomming00931

36 thoughts on “The Egyptian Goose…

  1. Lovely pics, didn’t know about the sacred part though – and now I do. Kitty get away from that bird before THEY come to take you to the underworld – and NOT in a nice way!

  2. Beautiful bird and great shots. I’m with you…I think some of the older cameras do a better job than these new ones….and then again maybe it’s my eyes…lol

    • Yes the age thing… maybe when I took these photos my hands were steadier… lol… still I do love that old camera which I gave to my 6 year old Grandson.. and now he takes magnificent photos…

  3. The sacred Egyptian Goose ~ Love the 2nd to last shot bulldog — amazing reflection and these are some gorgeous looking geese indeed!! Brilliant work!! ~Sending Loving thoughts your way today! xo

  4. Have just come over from Julies blog in Australia. Your photo’s are stunning and portray much of the beauty of our country. Thank you for that. I am in Centurion, Pretoria. Have signed up as a follower for more. Have you been to Etosha Namibia yet? Laura

  5. Great photos again, bdt. Now you have me trying to remember whether I saw these birds depicted on the interior walls of the tombs in Egypt. I know that the hieroglyphic alphabet has quite a few birds in it.

All comments are welcome... please...Write something.. go on, let your voice be heard...

