The Power of a Face Book Share.

Yesterday (all my troubles were so far away, no that’s the Beetles song, idiot) my blog took an unexpected run, that had me wondering why. It was a post on the Rhodesian Memorial day, followed by my Giant Kingfisher photos.

I, on a normal day, can expect between 50 and 150 visits, yesterday I had 719. What had caused this to happen? I had shared my blog on Face Book, Twitter and Google plus, the normal shares I do just to let my friends know I’ve posted again. (I have a few that don’t blog and won’t follow on email).

Why had I gone semi viral? A look on Face Book showed a few friends had hit the “Share” button, and obviously this had given me a bit more exposure. A lot more exposure, I started to get emails from all over the world from other ex-Rhodesians, gosh it was great. An analysis showed nearly 500 visits resulted from Face Book, and I gained a whole lot more followers.

Followers, must be followed, well that is my feeling in any case, so I have gained more blogs to look at.. and that is wonderful, I love it. More people to interact with and more opinions to read, more friends to make and .. wow… I even discovered a few extra South Africans to follow..

Never underestimate the power of a share or re-blog, some thing my good friend Nia taught me when I first started. She re-blog one of my posts that took me from a daily visit of 10 – 20 visits to the 50 –150, and she introduced me to all of you who’s blogs I love…

Thanks for all the visits, comments and humours banter.. I really enjoy it, and it has broadened my knowledge in so many ways on so many subjects… I enjoy you all.. what… I love you all…

Capture 18

Capture 19

46 thoughts on “The Power of a Face Book Share.

  1. Ah yes, you are learning to work it so to speak. I have those fun days sometimes too, its a nice boost of inspiration isn’t it? Last month I had 3,900 hits on a post about chicken anatomy… what the heck! lol

  2. Good work! I’ve never come close to hat many views in one day. But I must say your post yesterday was amazing and very touching and I’m so glad it was shared across the world 🙂

  3. Wow – that is awesome!!! Congrats!!! Hope this keeps up for you!!! My blog took a turn for the worse… previously I would also get between 100-200 visitors per day…. For the last couple of months I’m lucky if I get 50!!!?? I publicize to twitter, linkedin & facebook everytime….!!! I’m obviously doing something wrong!!! (I’ve got around 700 followers?) !!! I really need to investigate this!!! So happy for you – the power of the internet!!! Never seizes to amaze!!! 🙂 **

    • Thank you .. yes I am not holding my breath that this will hold water for too long… and will soon sink back to normality… but as you say that’s this cyber world we live in ….

All comments are welcome... please...Write something.. go on, let your voice be heard...

