Zebra… a Black and White portrayal…

I quite like the black and white effect of the Zebra when depicted in a B & W photo… I saw a photo taken so many years ago by my Mother in Rhodesia and this gave me the encouragement to play a bit.  Some of the photos I also enhanced a tad using Photscape a free photoshop type program..

Rietvlei 18-10-2012 208

Rietvlei 18-10-2012 210

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Rietvlei 18-10-2012 226

Rietvlei 18-10-2012 206

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Rietvlei 18-10-2012 204

Rietvlei 18-10-2012 209

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Tania rietvlei 15-10-2012 138

55 thoughts on “Zebra… a Black and White portrayal…

    • I took recently photos of a young Zebra (new Born) with its family unit and turned a lot of those photos to B&W… it was surprising how well the youngster is mixed in with the parents… and one can understand why a Lion might have difficulty distinguishing the young from the old…fantastic…

  1. Great photos, of course! In particular I like the final closeup. The black and white is a nice choice. It seems that everywhere you go you have the most wonderful photographic opportunities! 🙂

    • Thank you… I am blessed to have the chances to capture what I do… living near parks and having family living in different parts of South Africa certainly helps…. but actually living anywhere in our country one is never very far from a park or an opportunity, if one just looks…

    • Thanks Maralee… there is a bit of a back ground to the B&W feature it’s to do with the fact, Apparently Lion only see in B&W, a herd of Zebra must be pretty confusing to there eyesight…

    • Thank you.. I’ve been experimenting with the antelope photos to see how their camouflage changes in B & W, after talking to a Lion expert that informs me that Lion only see in B&W… the Zebra when in big herds more often than not avoid being captured by Lion and I can see why… they must just appear as one big stripe and difficult for the Lion to select one to go after…

    • I did this as an experiment… after talking to a Lion expert that informs me that Lion only see in B&W… the Zebra when in big herds more often than not avoid being captured by Lion and I can see why… they must just appear as one big stripe and difficult for the Lion to select one to go after… they say this is why the wildebees are often within the herds of Zebra, as they give them some form of camouflage…interesting…

    • I forgot to say, don’t ask me how they know Lion only see in B&W… you could hardly put him in a chair and ask what colour he sees, without suffering a loss of an arm or leg…lol

        • The expert was a young girl of 25 odd… and naturally I challenged the claim..(me being me) she went to long lengths of given me all the technical data etc… couldn’t argue with that so accepted what she said… next time I see her as she is taking me out to their Lions again, I’ve got to ask her what Icecream they like… an American wants to know… that should throw her a curve ball….lol

All comments are welcome... please...Write something.. go on, let your voice be heard...

