Burchell’s Coucal..In the City?

Burchell’s coucal ( Centropus burchellii )

This near endemic to Southern Africa bird prefers areas with dense vegetation and at least 600 mm of rainfall per year, such as thickets, reed beds, coastal bush, borders between woodland and grassland and land adjacent to wetlands. Now none of these areas describes where we live, we are in the city… so what is this bird doing on the lawn of my neighbours property.??? 

I’ve told you all I love to sit and watch the birds, but this had me collecting the camera… Nature at it’s best.. just when you think you are understanding it, a curve ball comes your way…

Sure he/she is collecting the snails in the garden and making a feast of them… but he/she shouldn’t be here… or so I thought….

tania 124

tania 139

tania 145

Ok he/she did enjoy the snail… but I ask once again why are they here.?? Later another appeared, sitting higher up…. looking for danger…

tania 169

tania 161

and then the reason popped it’s head up for me to capture… a youngster still being fed by the parents… the darker neck is a sign of a juvenile…

tania 181

37 thoughts on “Burchell’s Coucal..In the City?

  1. Just seen Burchell’s Coucal in my garden, Honeydew, heard an usually call, there he was in my tree, flew into the roof and was gone.

  2. How interesting that they are there. Can you send them my way? I have some snails they can eat. I don’t have it in me to get rid of them myself, but if the birds get them, that’s part of the circle of life.

  3. I so love these Coucals. We have one visiting our garden daily as well. They are gorgeous. Lovely shots bulldog! 🙂

    • Thank you… being in the city I hardly expected to see them here.. we are not far from Rietvlei Dam reserve where I encounter them often… but to get them in a garden next to a busy orad did astound me…

  4. Pingback: Common Cuckoo.. | The Photographic Journey of bulldog.

    • I can assure you the youngster was the last thing I expected to see… it is most unusual to find this terribly shy bird out in the open in a garden and then to see the young… beyond my experiences… just shows nature can toss curve balls as well…

    • Yes Laura.. that is what surprised me the most… to see it catch a snail and then proceed to eat it in the open is not their usual behaviour… I found this most surprising…

All comments are welcome... please...Write something.. go on, let your voice be heard...

