Drink Lemon Juice.. It’s amazing..

Lemons have so many different good qualities.. that their often sour or bitter taste, can be ignored because of their beneficial qualities.

Linda, my wife, has suffered from three different cancers (Colon, Breast and Ovarian) and because of this and the terror of having chemo and radiation therapy, we are always on the look out for alternate healthier ways of combatting a return. Lately we have been told of a good drink that assists in so many ailments.. LEMONS…

The suggestion was to grate a whole lemon, I mean whole, skin, pith and all the rest. Placing the resultant mulch in a bowl and adding a cup of warm/hot water, not boiling. Allow this to cool and add another cup of warm/hot water and again allowing to cool. continue with this till a quantity of approx. one and a half litres is reached.

When cool, place the liquid and pulp in a jug and place in the fridge. Drink a glass full everyday. (300 ml. )

What are the benefits ? These are taken from the website CARE2.com ..make a difference..

  1. Bowel-Cleansing:  The bitter taste of lemon gives these fruit the ability to increase peristalsis–a pumping-motion in the bowels–which helps to eliminate waste from the bowels and improve regularity. 
  2. Cancer:  Lemons contain 22 anti-cancer compounds, including limonene—a naturally-occurring oil that slows or halts the growth of cancer tumours in animals.  Lemons also contain a substance called flavonol glycosides which stop cell division in cancer cells.
  3. Colds and Flu:  Lemons are rich in vitamin C and flavonoids that work in conjunction for a serious punch against infection.
  4. Liver:  Fresh lemon juice added to a large glass of water in the morning is a great liver detoxifier.
  5. Nutrition:  Lemons contain vitamin C, citric acid, flavonoids, B-complex vitamins, calcium, copper, iron, magnesium, phosphorus, potassium, and fibre.
  6. Balances Body Chemistry:  While lemons are acidic they interact with the body’s metabolism to have an alkalizing effect on the bodily fluids helping to restore balance to the body’s pH. (cancer cannot live in an alkaline body)
  7. Allergies:  Lemons contain the phytonutrient hesperidin which has been shown in studies to alleviate allergic symptoms.
  8. Brain and Nervous System Disorders:  Containing the potent phytonutrient tangeretin in the peel, lemons have been proven to be effective for brain disorders like Parkinson’s disease.
  9. Eye Disorders:  Rutin, found in lemons, has been shown in research to improve the symptoms of eye disorders, including diabetic retinopathy.
  10. Anti-Viral:  In addition to being effective against cold and flu viruses, terpene limonoids found in lemons have proven anti-viral effects on other types of viruses.
  11. Diabetes: In addition to improving eye problems linked with diabetes, lemons contain hesperetin which lowers blood sugar levels (when they are high).
  12. Gall and Kidney Stones:  The citric acid found in lemon juice helps to dissolve gallstones, calcium deposits, and kidney stones.
  13. Anti-Aging:  The vitamin C found in lemons helps to neutralize free radicals linked to aging and most types of disease.

Now we have been on this for a few days, (If I expect Linda to take it, I take it as well.) I have to admit, for myself a feeling of general improved well being. Linda, her arthritis is giving less pain and already an improvement in mobility of finger joints and this must be seen as a good sign.. so we will continue and believe that it will improve our health and reduce her chances of returning cancer… and on Thursday she sees her Oncologist for her three monthly check up, and I intend to discuss this with him…

Just felt this was worth the share for those that might like to try it and give us feed back….

70 thoughts on “Drink Lemon Juice.. It’s amazing..

  1. ok – so i did it wrong… I have a vitamix power blender and blended up the entire lemon — so drank the peel too! This is more of a seeping of the lemon into the water… infusion type thing? But do you actually squeeze out the juice of the lemon, and drink that too? x rl

    • What we do is juice the whole thing peel and all, a blender should work fine… the trick is to add enough water to dilute the bitterness of the pith and peel and to slowly add the hot water allowing to cool between additions… when you have about one and a half litres to two litres of liquid allow it to stand for a few days that the pith and peel has sunk to the bottom… they say then it is ready to drink.. we put it through a sieve at that stage.. we then put a quarter of a glass of the juice and mix it with more water before drinking… not nearly as bitter then, actually we find it quite refreshing… the trick is the goodness is in the peel apparently and that needs time to infuse into the water… consequentially the repeated soaking in hot water… but beware of drinking it too strong as I believe it can have an effect on the enamel of the teeth… love and hugs your way and enjoy the drink it is certainly working on Linda’s pH…

  2. Three different types of cancer. That’s just unfair. I hope it never will return. My dad died from cancer so i have personal experience with this terrible disease. And that lemon juice sure sounds good for a lot of things.

  3. My friends daughter when studying in college would have a big cold glass of water with lemon juice in it to help her work. I thought it was just an oddity…now I am thinking there was a reason.

  4. I did not know about this one, good luck to Linda and good health to you both. What a great guy she is so lucky to have “If I expect Linda to take it, I take it as well.” That right there tells me a lot about you, good for you. Also turmeric,curcumin has been know to get rid of tumors, I take it every day for many benefits. Best wishes to Linda for a clean bill of health!

  5. Pingback: Lemons are good for you in so many ways | Our Health Issues

  6. This was extremely interesting, and I just read it out loud to my mom as my dad has also gone through numerous cancers. I’m going to have to look into this some more, and good luck to your wife at her checkup :).

    • Thank you… I’m convinced that this will work for Linda and her bad pH.. so many people have contacted me privately since this post, assuring me of it’s success… not only that but others that say their arthritis as turned around since using it… giving them so much more movement in the joints that were already useless… it can’t do any harm, so Linda is on it and I’ve started again, as I felt better when starting her off and taking it myself…

  7. Definitely worth sharing…..thank you. I add lemon to my water all the time but have never made a lemon “cocktail” as you described. I will need to give it a try. Here’s to good health 🙂

    • to your good health also Ingrid… a lot of comments are from people that drink lemon in their water… which I’m sure must do a lot of good as well… I must admit I love the cocktail… slightly bitter but enjoyable and refreshing…

  8. Very interesting facts about the health benefits of the simple lemon. I’m going to try it. I do hope that it helps boost your wife’s immune system to fight off those aberrant cancer cells. And any aberrant cells you may have swimming around in you, too, Bulldog! 🙂

    • Thanks Lorna.. I’ll slowly wean myself off so that she can carry on… I’m ok, it’s her that has the records that we can do a check on pH.. I’ve got to taste it so she can’t weasel out of it… but to be honest I love the taste and will definitely drink in-between times…

  9. Oh wow bulldog – I want to try this. Honestly I do drink fresh lemon in water a lot – but not with all the skin/pits/pulp the way you describe. We have a wonderful blender (vitamin) that I can grate the whole lemon in… guess important to wash the peel very well because of chemicals and waxes… Thank you soooo much for offering this wisdom here today… And am in so much admiration of your beautiful wife. I did not know she had those 3 forms of Cancer ~ all in my family as well — and said to be genetically linked. She is a warrior and you are her protective knight… Such a loving couple I can feel it. Blessings Love and Lemons 🙂 ~ xo Robyn

    • Thanks Robyn… yes we tend to wash the fruit in a good Milton solution before shredding… and to be honest even though a bit bitter we are both loving it… I’ll slowly wean myself off it.. so she can carry on… Linda has the records of her pH so we can watch her results…

      • Yes – i now lemon is supposed to lower ph — something about the transition in digestion turning acid to alkaline… let me know if you see evidence of this in Linda’s results… I will start up for spring with my greens and lemons in the vitamix I think!! Than you for motivation!!! 🙂 x

  10. Fantastic information – something I’m going to start with this week when back from mum – do you chop the lemon up and then work it with a mixer???? There is also cons with drinking lemon juice – DENTAL EROSION – GASTROESOPHAGEAL REFLUX – GASTROESOPHAGEAL REFLUX – MEDICINE INTERACTIONS. I don’t take any medicine.

    • I place ours through a juicer and then take the skin and pith and place it in with the juice… or I grate the lemon on a hand held grater and then add the first cup of water…
      Dental erosion is a possibility, and most sites advocate a brushing soon after drinking… reflux well so far since I’ve been taking it I’ve suffered no symptoms which I normally have regularly.. and I’ve got a appointment to swallow the camera in a months time to see why I suffer so badly from reflux.. so maybe I’ve found a cure… I did not find any interactions with medicines, and I searched this as Linda is still on hormone block, arthritic, and all sorts of other things prescribed by her Oncologist… Our old Oncologist in another city agreed it could do no harm when I phoned her…

      • Great news, I will start drinking a cup every morning – my mum can’t take in too much C-vitamins because of her medicine and gallbladder. And there is con with everything we eat. Thanks a million for the tip – ever knew that lemon was good for so many different things – you have converted me.
        .

    • I will certainly report back on Linda’s changes.. the biggest change I’m hoping for is an improvement in body pH.. a well known fact that correct pH is paramount to cancer cells not being able to survive.. so that is my aim as her pH is very acidic.. mine not too bad…

  11. I am sorry to hear this, BD. Have you heard of the Budwig Diet? My son is taking it for high cholesterol and I have started taking it for my osteoporosis.

    The Budwig Diet – Flaxseed Oil And Cottage Cheese Quark Diet

    http://www.budwigcenter.com/anti-cancer-diet.php

    Learn about the Budwig Diet as used by The Budwig Center. The budwig diet is an anti cancer diet and is both preventative and curative with the main …

    Check it out please. I hope it will help Linda. It is not at all unpleasant to take and has had no side effects on either of us.

    • Well first thanks for the look in.. and I’m pleased to hear others are using it to good effect… hopefully it will turn Linda’s body pH to a positive rather than negative balance…Thank you…

  12. A super food in the truest sense of the word! I remember as a child, there was an elderly friend of the family who was very healthy and robust and she swore that the secret to her great health was that every morning her breakfast consisted of one glass of water and one glass of freshly squeezed lemon juice. I use quite a lot of fresh lemons, and if any of us have a cold we put a wedge of lemon with a wedge of fresh ginger and a spoonful of honey into hot water to drink. I’m going to have a go at using the whole lemon though in the way you describe, it’s one of those things that’s got to be worth a try hasn’t it!

    • Thats what we felt.. the good in lemons is extensively written about.. why we never picked up on it before I don’t know… but here we go on an experimental trip.. I always insist when they take Linda’s blood for testing every three months, that they test body pH, and hers is acidic… so with time we will be able to see if this turns around…

  13. Heard about the wonderful effects myself. Have not heard about processing it in the way you are but will certainly do it. My parents have a wonderful Lemon tree in their garden and when they are prolific, they always give me some. I then keep them in the freezer, so I can grate some into whatever dish I wish to add lemon. I shall now try your way as well. Will be interesting to follow the results of this. Wishing your wife all the best for her follow up tests.

    • How true Alex.. and yet big business does it’s best to ignore these facts… they obviously worry about their income if others find relief in simpler cures…

  14. Thank you for this information, I have tried the juice of half lemon in water first thing in the morning to help detox. Your research uses more of the lemon which makes heaps of sense.

  15. This is great information dear Rob, I have been drinking too, it also helped my reflux acid problem… Thank you, all my best wished for you both, love, nia

All comments are welcome... please...Write something.. go on, let your voice be heard...

