Green Backed Heron..or Striated Heron..

Striated Heron, Butorides striata

There seems to be some controversy about this heron group.. this bird is one that falls within a series that is now broken up into different names.. and to be quite honest I’m not even sure if this is still called a Green Backed heron or just a Striated Heron..

There is now a Green Heron, which is found in North America and Panama which for all I know looks the same as this bird… so here’s a few photos and maybe someone will recognise it and tell us more…

2007_0325incomming0120

2007_0325incomming0122

Thur 21-07-2011 060

48 thoughts on “Green Backed Heron..or Striated Heron..

  1. It’s very annoying that they keep changing the names. I don’t think the bird cares either way – probably goes by Squak, Hoot or Chirp most days anyway?

  2. Not sure about the name, but what a stunning creature. The only birds I can recognize are pigeons, and sometimes I’m not completely sure.

  3. Good sharp photos Rob, especially the third one. You do very well to get close enough to capture such good photos.

  4. Absolutely stunning shots as usual bulldog. I can just see you sitting there amazed at these beautiful birds and it seems they know that and they do these lovely poses for you. Wish I could have been there. Thanks for sharing my friend. 🙂 *hugs*

  5. The first one I had seen when we were in Costa Rica and I thought that to be the blue heron, but what do I know, except that you are one great photographer. 🙂

  6. Wow, the bird looks so different in the third photo, and its colors appear to be more vivid and green, while the first two seem to a lot bluer.
    Russ

    • This is the problem now .. is it the same bird or are they different? I can’t answer that question.. they were all more or less grouped in the past.. now I’m lost…

  7. I know there is a green heron that I’ve seen in Mexico. It’s quite a bit smaller than the blue heron that we have here on Vancouver Island. They’re beautiful birds. I love the detail on the wings where they look like they have been outlined.

All comments are welcome... please...Write something.. go on, let your voice be heard...

