Pale Chanting Goshawk

(Southern) Pale Chanting Goshawk (Melierax canorus)

This hawk breeds in southern Africa. It is a resident species of dry, open semi-desert with 75 cm or less annual rainfall. It is commonly seen perched on roadside telephone poles.

This species is 56–65 cm long. The adult has grey upper-parts with a white rump.

Kalagadi 378

Kalagadi 366

Immature have brown upper-parts, with a white rump and black bars on the tail.

Kalagadi 191

Kalagadi 194

The Pale Chanting Goshawk eats a variety of vertebrate prey, mainly lizards, but also small mammals and birds, and large insects. It often walks on the ground.

Kalagadi 1095

Kalagadi 1099

49 thoughts on “Pale Chanting Goshawk

  1. I was wandering how many varieties of birds there are in Africa, and you answered this in one of your comments (900). Great photos yet again. I hope you get to show them all.

    • It is an ambition to get as many photos as possible.. I think my positive ID stands at 388 but photos not there yet… but I’ll keep on trying…

  2. Your beautiful pictures so often give the animals and birds such a noble quality, Bulldog, and like the other comments I also love the last shot! Great capture! πŸ™‚

    • They do a lot of stalking on the ground.. and to see them sneaking through grass as though they are a predator in the class of a leopard is unusual to say the least… but I actually watched this one stalk and capture it’s prey.. the photos just came out too dark to share…

    • Hawks or birds.?? we have nearly 900 bird specie in the country… hawk and eagles make up approx 60.. and as I travel the whole country I like to see if I can’t capture them all,, have 346 on camera so far.. still got a long way to go…

  3. We have so many beautiful birds at the farm, Bulldog, but I can never seem to get them to stay still enough for me to get a shot (they won’t listen to reason!). You have so much talent – these pics are wonderful! πŸ˜€

    • Thank you Dianne… they don’t always co-operate with me as well… many a photo is merely an empty page with no bird… these are normally followed with the proverbial “where’d he goooo”

  4. While looking at the photos I was thinking the same thing about how he looked all bossy as he was walking. You really have some great looking birds. I might also maybe I need to get out there and watch. Thanks for sharing. ;O)

  5. I’ve never seen a hawk with this coloring..I like it:) I too love that last shot especially…it just kind of shows the hawk’s personality I guess…nice series, Captain Birdman!

    • Oh this bird is full of attitude… I had the honour of watching him stalk his prey that was in the fallen tree.. his stride and tenacity were so obviously there, his attitude told me so much about this bird, that after the capture I wanted to alight to shake his hand… a smallish hawk in stature but very big in attitude… love him… pity the photos of the capture were all just to dark not even a light adjustment could help them…

  6. Here again you’re close and personal with a stunning bird. Only thing I get close to is 2 male ducks *laughing. Hawks has always fascinated me … something so majestic about them. Doesn’t matter what size they are in. 65 cm that is a big bird. Great gallery again, Bob …

  7. Absolutely gorgeous shots as usual bulldog. Thanks for sharing the beauty around you my friend. πŸ™‚ *hugs*

    • Thank you.. it was an interesting watch to see him stalk his lizard lunch .. just a pity he had to do it in the shade and the photos are just too dark…

    • I sat and watched as he stalked a lizard that he finally captured, unfortunately the photos where just too dark of the capture, to post… but what a wonderful experience to watch his stalk and “Bossy” attitude as he went about his business of feeding himself… and this all under a dark thorny tree that had fallen over..

All comments are welcome... please...Write something.. go on, let your voice be heard...

