The Mountain Reedbuck.

Mountain reedbuck (Redunca fulvorufula)

Mountain Reedbuck..? sounds a bit of an oxymoron, how often do you see reeds in the mountains of South Africa.?? Not often if ever. So where did this name come from.? Who knows.

The Mountain Reedbuck is a medium-sized, graceful and shy antelope. Rams attain a mass of about 32 Kg and measures 750mm at shoulder. Ewes are smaller at 30 Kg.  It has a fluffy white tail and striking white under-parts. Forward curved horns are only found on rams.

The Mountain Reedbuck is a grazer and needs an adequate supply of fresh water. Well that I can go with, our mountains do have water reserves stored in areas… there must be reeds there then… Ah Ha … we have the answer…

Their natural habitat is, as their name suggests, mountainous terrain and they can be seen on mountain slopes feeding or resting in the shade and camouflage of the thick bush. Distribution is restricted to the mountain slopes of Gauteng, the Drakensberg, as well as the Karoo koppies (hills) along the upper Orange River. The Mountain Reedbuck is quite common in a suitable habitat.

Well I have only ever seen them once before todays capture, which I must admit was a lucky one, specially as there was not a mountain to be seen where I was…

031

043

039

038

044

050

049

47 thoughts on “The Mountain Reedbuck.

  1. In the moment it must have been so exciting for you. Good for you for being the professional that you are, staying cool, and still capturing amazing gorgeous photographs Bulldog!

    • Thank you… this was an enjoyable encounter… in that I had no idea if they were going to stand or take flight,, and as it was only my second meeting up I have very little knowledge of the habits… so had to fly this one in the dark… forward reverse forward again till I could capture the shots I wanted.. praying the whole time they don’t take flight…

    • Thanks Col… I would have expected to see more of them in all my years of walking about… yet this is only the second encounter I’ve had… and the first chance to take photos…

    • Thanks Dianne… they say there are plenty of them… I obviously haven’t seen too many so I tend to agree with you.. must be a shy animal…

    • Thank you LuAnn .. it is a real soft looking antelope, must admit don’t know a lot about them as this is only the second time I’ve ever seen them… I think they heard about my blog and needed a bit of exposure with all the others…

  2. A camera hunter indeed! Looking into their eyes makes me wonder what they are thinking. Beautiful animals. Love today’s photos.

    • Thank you… this pair seemed so at ease with me in their presence… continued feeding with me not 10 metres from them… probably wondered what I was eating with a camera stuck to my face…

  3. What a precious face and those horns are very interesting. I don’t believe we have any animals in the states with horns quite like that. I think I need to go find me some animals to photograph…..

    • I only know of one other buck that has horns similar and that is one resident in Zambia and Botswana… Lechwe.. but their horns are longer and not quite the same shape… actually when one thinks about this antelope the horn shape is quite unique….

All comments are welcome... please...Write something.. go on, let your voice be heard...

