Sonel’s Black and White challenge.. Family.

bwphotochallenge-logo-sn

Week 5 : Family

                    (singular or plural – family unit) a man, his wife and their children.

                    a group of people related to each other, including cousins, grandchildren.

                    a group of plants, animals, languages, etc. that are connected in some way.

                    (music) the family of bowed stringed instruments.

                    (collection) several things grouped together or considered as a whole.

     As I don’t have albums full of family photos, and as they are spread far and wide, I have to once again resort to my families of animals and go and convert colour photos once more…

So here is my entry for this week….

Kalagadi 417

Kalagadi 298

Rietvlei 18-10-2012 210

Radermeyer and rietspruit 150

Radermeyer and rietspruit 123

DSCN4631

Kalagadi 1321

Kalagadi 1225

Kalagadi 1219

67 thoughts on “Sonel’s Black and White challenge.. Family.

  1. My husband is laughing in the back ground because I keep saying “Awe…” over and over again. Thanks for the big smiles…you’re the winner in this challenge!

  2. So very wonderful Bulldog, I must admit that I’m partial to the ones with the “babies” in them. The ‘ol mother thing I guess. But you’ve captured some original poses and movement making them even more endearing! xx

  3. All your family photos work great in black and white. No chance of your exposure being incorrect with the photo of the zebras – the perfect grey scale.

    • I found I had to slightly up the exposure with the Zebra as they seemed to me to disappear into their background… this seemed to make the grey shadow stripes some have become that little more grey than what they actually are… I have taken some photos of Zebra in B&W setting on the camera, they some how come out much better than converting colour to B&W… don’t ask why, I can’t answer it…

  4. Well, of course, this is a favorite post for me. I always delight in seeing the animal families. They are all really good images. I love the ostrich since I don’t believe I’ve even see a mother with her brood before. And the little fox-like fuzzies are delightful. I like this post.

    • Thanks George… yes the small of the families are by far the cutest of things… the baby ostrich is something to see in the wild how they can stop, sit and almost disappear with their spiky feathers…

    • Those around the table are the “Bulldog erectus” family… noisy bunch actually… noisy all day and night till they all finally fall over in bed…

  5. Pingback: Black and White Photo Challenge: Family | Beats of Pieces

  6. Awwww…these are absolutely gorgeous family photo’s bulldog! I just love them and you did a great job on turning them into Black and White my friend! Stunning entry and thanks so much for taking part. Much appreciated. 😀 *big hugs*

      • You are very welcome bulldog and I am very glad to hear that you are enjoying it.

        You mean the Abstract theme? Oh, that is very easy, especially for you that have all these beautiful wildlife near you. 😀

        For instance, look at this image :

        See what you can do with your beautiful photo’s? Take close-ups or crop the images you have, like the one of the great shot you took of the Zebra’s. Crop it to the eye of the Zebra. 😀

        • Thank you that sure helps a lot… been experimenting with other shots I’ve got… maybe my abstract understanding was not quite on the button…

          • Abstract can be interpretated widely. For instance, if you take a shot of a flower bud with a depth of field so that the background looks blurred and the flower bud stands out .. that is abstract as well.

            Liked I described it on my page :
            Abstract photography is a process of using different shapes, lines, curves and patterns combined to create an image and rules, such as composition and accurate focusing hold no values. With no true meaning or no clear subject involved, the abstract photo does not necessarily mean the same thing to everyone. It leaves more to the imagination and aids us to concentrate on feeling and thought rather than the whole subject. Patterns and Close-ups of flowers and other plant life make for great abstract images. There are no guidelines for creating good abstract photography. Just use your imagination along with the natural world to create your master piece.
            *big hugs*

    • Thanks Anneli… they say the predators only see in B&W (don’t ask how they know this, ’cause I don’t know) so one sees these animals camo much better when converting to the B&W…

  7. Aww – these are so beautiful bulldog ~ I love the animal shots – and also your lovely family image. I have to say the b&w photos are very appealing to me… I guess it’s personal taste – but especially with shots like you have here with the zebras – so much great contrast looks terrific! ~ x love to you – Robyn

    • Thanks Robyn… the Zebra work well with the B&W,,, light adjustment in those photos hardly matters… I’m beginning to enjoy the B&W more and even taking photos now in that genre with the camera… make settings a little tougher but it’s a nice challenge…

All comments are welcome... please...Write something.. go on, let your voice be heard...

