White-browed Sparrow-Weaver.

White-browed Sparrow-Weaver (Plocepasser mahali)

This is one long name for a small bird, just getting ones tongue around it is difficult enough.

What can I tell you about this bird; It ranges from 17 to 19 cm (6.7 to 7.5 in) in length and is characterized by a broad, white eyebrow stripe and white rump visible in flight. While the male sports a black bill, the female’s bill is horn-colour; that of the juvenile is pinkish-brown.

It has a sort of thrown together nest, not the best house keeper, with some trees carrying a few nests… Not a bird that has much you can talk about, but seeing it got in front of my lens, I took the photos…

Len 28-09-2012 042

Len 2-10-2012 031

Len 03-10-2012 103

Len 03-10-2012 100

Len 2-10-2012 043

len 060

Kalagadi 738

Kalagadi 884

57 thoughts on “White-browed Sparrow-Weaver.

  1. Maybe not a good housekeeper but the nests this bird makes is perfectly polished! Impeccable shots my friend!

  2. Goof close-ups as usual Bulldog. The nests must take many weeks to build. Large nests for smallish birds.

    • They are actually very well put together, one that had fallen out of the tree I tried to pull apart… very very difficult, all weaved together in a very untidy manner…

    • It is amazing what these little guys can do with no hands… some of the nests that the birds build, like the Paradise Fly Cather, is so neat and interwoven with spider web a human would never be able to replicate it…

    • Thanks Ronnie… at least you can see mine are birds… I saw the smallest of little green birds in our yard the other day and immediately thought of you…

    • They are much like the social weavers that build one big community flat, so to say, these guys are maybe a little more upper class and want a bit of space between them and their neighbours…lol

  3. Some neat little bird … and very architectural too. Love their nests and even if they look thrown together – there is loads of work going into them – nothing left at chance. A hard working little bird … and pretty too.
    Excellent bird shots again, Bob …

      • I think the nests looks amazing – and to be done by a such a small bird. Fantastic that the can keep the snakes away – I wouldn’t like snakes around my “nest” – I done like any snakes, but I wouldn’t harm any if I didn’t have to – I think I would die of fear before it came to that.

    • Same family.. and actually look very similar… the one on the poles s called the Social weave… but if you put them next to each other you could easily have difficulty naming the bird… maybe I should do a post with them side by side, then you will see the problem I have every now and then deciding what bird it is…

  4. The nests are really amazing. Thanks for the close-up. I love that they seem to have a whole weaver village in one tree. For once, I think the female is prettier than the male. πŸ™‚

    • It is really much like the other weave nests just not nearly as tidy… but I’m led to believe that it is a protection method making it more difficult for snakes to get in the nest… don’t quote me on that but it was told me thus… and actually I can believe it…

  5. I love these! What a cutie-pie!! And her nest….Love it!! She seems so content in her sloppiness!! I need to learn from her. πŸ˜€ Thanks,Bulldog!! Hope you are having a great day today!! πŸ˜€

    • Thanks Skye… I am.. yes they are not the tidiest on the block, maybe we should learn something from them, when someone visits and the house is untidy, show them the pictures and say we are part of the family…

      • lol!! Yes!! I am definitely adopting the White-browed Sparrow-Weaver’s ways….Now, I just have to practice saying it so I do not embarrass myself when those people do show up!! πŸ˜€ Hugs!!

All comments are welcome... please...Write something.. go on, let your voice be heard...

