Squacco Heron

Squacco Heron (Ardeola ralloides)

Now this is one I did not know and had to ask help to ID it… never having seen one before, and then on top of this it is a Juvenile bird….

I’m led to believe it  breeds in southern Europe and the Greater Middle East, and winters in South Africa. As I said this is a first for me but I considered it a good find.

It is a small heron, 44–47 centimetres (17–19 in) long, of which the body is 20–23 centimetres (7.9–9.1 in), with 80–92 centimetres (31–36 in) wingspan.

It is a stocky species with a short neck, short thick bill and buff-brown back. In summer, adults have long neck feathers. Its appearance is transformed in flight, when it looks very white due to the colour of the wings. The Squacco heron’s breeding habitat is marshy wetlands in warm countries.

The birds nest in small colonies, often with other wading birds, usually on platforms of sticks in trees or shrubs. 3-4 eggs are laid. They feed on fish, frogs and insects. Wow now all of that I had to take out of books, so we learn together with this one….

trip 147

trip 145

trip 143

trip 141

58 thoughts on “Squacco Heron

  1. Well done on spotting something new. It’s quite amazing how wildlife finds its way around the world, sometimes covering thousands of miles purely on instinct, and often returning to the same area or even nest.

  2. This is one of those birds that looks off balance–as if the butt end got too close to a trimmer and the face too close to a pencil sharpener. Forgive me. My mind works in mysterious ways sometimes… 😉

    • It certainly was and I couldn’t get better captures than what I did… but I do still have so many in our land to see… so many birds to find and running out of time…

  3. Oh, do give me the grey heron post! Herons are my very favorite birds. This little guy is a heron by virtue of his feathers and bill, etc., but he is a shorty! How cute! I bet you wee startled to see him!

  4. It’s always lovely to see and learn new things on your blog bulldog. Excellent photo’s as usual my friend. 😀 *hugs*

  5. I have only seen a heron alive … once and that was on Salt Spring Island in British Columbia, Canada … was expecting the bird to be much taller/bigger, but this here looks smaller. We have the “grey heron” (Ardea cinerea)
    but it becomes 55-175 cm and weight up to 1,4 kg – stunning bird. All in grey shades. Thanks for sharing.

All comments are welcome... please...Write something.. go on, let your voice be heard...

