Olive Thrush… one of the common Thrush’s..

Olive Thrush (Turdus olivaceus)

One of the most common members of the thrush family (Turdidae). It occurs in east African highlands from Eritrea and Ethiopia in north to the Cape of Good Hope in south.

The female builds a cup nest, typically 2 to 9 m above the ground in a tree or hedge. The 1–3 (usually 2) eggs are incubated solely by the female for 14–15 days to hatching, and the chicks fledge in another 16 days.

The Karoo Thrush (Turdus smithi) is said to be a sub-specie of this bird and I have posted on it before (to see post CLICK HERE), and now that is enough of the scientific stuff…

This bird has the most beautiful singing voice and I’m going to try and add a YouTube recording… http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TTYjKzykq6g  sorry you’ll have to click on the link, but please do, it is beautiful…

And you must remember my singing Ground scraper Thrush, that pair of singers.?? (to see post CLICK HERE

Now for my photos of the Olive Thrush…..

trip 028

trip 034

trip 033

trip 031

47 thoughts on “Olive Thrush… one of the common Thrush’s..

  1. I have a recording of the Cape Olive Thrush in my garden in Cape Town, South Africa. How can I send it to you? (new to this sort of thing)

    • Good question.. I have no idea, I think you would have to download it first to a soundcloud and then you could probably just send it as an attachment to a comment…

  2. He’s paler than our robins and the beak is more orange. Song is similar but more melodious than our robin’s. I’ve never seen this bird and probably never will, so it’s nice that I’ve seen him on your blog.

    • Thank you Anneli… he does have such a charming little tune, specially if one awakes to him… they are pretty common as are most of the Thrush, haven’t heard of one on the endangered list…

    • It is a pleasure for me to share, but I get so much pleasure and relaxation out of the hobby I can’t recommend it enough.. the stalk and elation when one gets the good shot is addictive… I love it… keeps my blood pressure in check…

  3. I have heard lots of song bird before but this is the first time I’ve seen one sing…and this one was definitely not lip singing!

  4. What a darling bird, and now i am going to try and play the utube, usually there is not enough strength in the signal out here for such endeavours but i will give it a crack. c

All comments are welcome... please...Write something.. go on, let your voice be heard...

