The Lilac-breasted Roller.. a painted bird.

Lilac-breasted Roller (Coracias caudatus)

I have posted on this bird before and to see that post CLICK HERE.

During the breeding season, the male will fly to great heights, and descend in swoops and dives, uttering harsh inconsistent cries to it’s normal. I wonder if that is where the name Roller comes from… and a little more research uncovers the following … “Rollers get their name from their impressive courtship flight, a fast, shallow dive from considerable elevation with a rolling or fast rocking motion, accompanied by loud raucous calls.” well I was right then…

This species is the national bird of Botswana and Kenya. (Now I didn’t know that, just shows what a bit of research can uncover)

trip 081

trip 082

trip 124

60 thoughts on “The Lilac-breasted Roller.. a painted bird.

  1. Such stunning colors this little guy has! Turquoise and purple remind me of my dearly departed friend Barb, a gifted artist who painted almost exclusively with these two colors. 🙂

    • It is an amazing bird that catches my eye every visit we make to the lowveld… it is one that seems to stand out above all others when it comes to colours…

  2. The image titled “trip 124” really shows this bird’s gorgeous lilac breast! I’m so amazed by all the nature surrounding you. Can I tell you again how much I appreciate you sharing it all with us!?

  3. A lot of men can learn a lot from this very impressive Roller. Courtship is an Art. It is meant to win the heart of the person we admire. This flying fella knows how to sweep his destined partner off her feet. Have a great weekend!

  4. Beautiful colorings…but if you look at it straight on at the second shot, it has a similar look as a small bird of prey…sort of a “don’t mess with me look, I’ll eat you”. Wondering if they can be particularly aggressive or protective?

All comments are welcome... please...Write something.. go on, let your voice be heard...

