Black Wildebeest.. a Proud Dancer.

Black wildebeest or white-tailed gnu (Connochaetes gnou)

A year ago, last Thursday I was strolling in the zoo
when I met a man who though he knew the lot.
He was laying down the law about the habits of Baboons
And how many quills a porcupine has got.
So I asked him: ‘What’s that creature there?’
He answered: ‘Oh, H’it’s a H’elk’
I might of gone on thinking that was true,
If the animal in question hadn’t put that chap to shame
And remarked: ‘I h’aint a H’elk. I’m a Gnu!’

1
‘I’m a Gnu, I’m a Gnu
The g-nicest work of g-nature in the zoo
I’m a Gnu, How do you do
You really ought to k-now w-ho’s w-ho’s

3
I’m a Gnu, Spelt G-N-U
I’m g-not a Camel or a Kangaroo
So let me introduce,
I’m g-neither man nor moose
Oh g-no g-no g-no I’m a Gnu’

4

5

THE GNU SONG (Michael Flanders / Donald Swann) Flanders & Swann – 1960

59 thoughts on “Black Wildebeest.. a Proud Dancer.

    • Well now you gnu they are the same… do you remember Barry York, we shared a study, I bumped into him in Pta and he invited me to his farm where he is breeding the Golden Wildebeest which reach huge prices on auction…

  1. Good to see what a GNU actually looks like…I’ve used the word playing scrabble a few times. I wander how much money the artists made out of the GNU song…just jealous I didn’t think of it.

  2. Fascinating! and the song is adorable… I got a big,,,no…HUGE kick out of the silent “g” in the lyrics because my maiden name had a silent “g”! LOL What distress that caused me with the zillions of mispronounciations I suffered! It’s an italian name–Gnecco–and in italian the “gn” has a distinct sound that’s near impossible for english speakers to pronounce!
    Great post, bulldog…and the pics as always are unbelievably good!

  3. Wow…firstly, I have never seen a wildebeest before, pretty neat! And secondly, I have never known that a gnu and a wildebeest were the same thing. Learning something gnu every day…he he.

All comments are welcome... please...Write something.. go on, let your voice be heard...

