South African Shelduck… something I didn’t know.

South African Shelduck or Cape Shelduck, (Tadorna cana)

When researching yesterdays post about the Common Shelduck, I wasn’t aware that we had our own.. this I have to have a photo of somewhere… and blow me down I do, taken in the Kalahari where I found the other…

Not being very good on ducks ID, seeing as half is normally under water… this one did jump out at me… not the best and I only have two which i will share with you..

Here first a bit of info thanks to Wikipedia…

This is a 64 cm long bird which breeds in southern Africa, mainly in Namibia and South Africa. In the southern winter, many birds move north-east from the breeding range to favoured moulting grounds, where sizable concentrations occur.

This species is mainly associated with lakes and rivers in fairly open country, breeding in disused mammal holes, usually those of the Aardvark.

Adult South African Shelduck have ruddy bodies and wings strikingly marked with black, white and green. The male has a grey head, and the female has a white face and black crown, nape and neck sides.

09-07-2012 056

09-07-2012 049

45 thoughts on “South African Shelduck… something I didn’t know.

  1. Their very rich earthy colors are striking to say the least. Simply gorgeous captures of these ducks in action.

  2. Well, you know what they say…”If it looks like a duck and quacks like a duck, it’s probably some sort of duck” (even in South Africa). I’m just guessing here because I didn’t go on Wikipedia and fact-check you. That’s how much I trust and respect your duck research. 🙂

  3. I am so impressed with how well you do identifying ducks, as frankly, I have a hard time! The male and female differ in coloring and I simply can’t always distinguish the detail clearly enough when I go to the books or online identification. I’ve never heard of Shelduck, but they are sweet in their simplicity. The soft browns aren’t as distinguished in coloring as some ducks, but I rather like them! 🙂

    • Thank you I take that as a complement.. I do have a fair amount of books that I have accumulated over the years.. my favourite being Newman’s birds by colours… one takes the main colours and you head to that section of the book and can normally find the bird, duck or eagle and from there one can expand the research to other books… they do make it a lot easier these days…

  4. Ducks are really amazing in their variety of plumage and habits. I used to think they were all yellow or brown but once I started learning about some of the species of wild ducks it opened a door to a study of its own. So many types of ducks inhabit this earth!

    • I have never given much mind to the ducks as they never present themselves to well for photography… and I’m not really up on them either… but this one did come as a surprise that it was a SA duck…

All comments are welcome... please...Write something.. go on, let your voice be heard...

