Vervet monkey… our daily visitors.

vervet monkey (Chlorocebus pygerythrus)

These mostly vegetarian monkeys have black faces and grey body hair colour, ranging in length from about 19 in (50 cm) for males to about 16 in (40 cm) for females.

Every morning and evening this little tribe would pass our wooden cabin where we stayed whilst in Natal… they became quite friendly, I suppose hoping for a hand-out of food… we didn’t feed them as we would not be staying long and they might just get used to our food… but they were cute to watch and very obliging with their poses.. 

I loved the Mammas with their young…

020

057

061

Wow this looks painful…..

062

Now is this not a look of love.???

063

Hang on down there we’re on the move…

065

072

Hey little guy….

073

79 thoughts on “Vervet monkey… our daily visitors.

  1. Absolutely adorable Rob. You know how much I love these and thanks for the link. I still have a lot to catch up on. Great share my friend. 😀 *hugs*

    • Thanks Sonel… I wouldn’t even try to catch up if I was you… I gave up a long time ago… I used to feel guilty if I missed a post, but they would send me a link if there was one they felt I needed to see, just like I did here… I was away for 10 days and I look at approx 75 posts each day, I would have to catch up with 750 odd posts… impossible, so now I rely on others to point me to something they fell I would enjoy…. have a good day Sonel and don’t even try to catch up… people are just pleased to see you return …

      • I gave up Rob. 😉 I have too many things to do during the day and I totally agree with you. If there is something someone wants me to see, they will include the link just like you did. Much appreciated my friend. 😀 *big hugs*

  2. That little guy with the big ears is just the cutest thing I ever saw! These are wonderful photographs of them, Rob. I just read well wishes from a visitor. I’m starting here at the last post so I don’t know what happened to you, but I too hope you are feeling better!!

  3. ADORABLE!!!!!!! And by the way…I hate my email….it’s sending so much of the blogs that I love to post to spam…no matter what I do…off you all go into spam…and every two days or so I slap my forehead and say “THEIR ALL IN SPAM AGAIN!!”

    • That happened to me for a while and then came right by itself… but it is frustrating having to go and retrieve all the normal posts from between all the real spam… Col is complaining about the same problem and as been on to WP without any luck so far…

      • AHA! It’s so frustrating…I’ve been a little swamped lately and so I don’t always think to check the spam….AAAAGGGHHHH! I hope it does resolve itself..I’ve looked for help online and as you mentioned..no luck so far.

  4. Great photos Rob…all wonderful to see. The penultimate shot is my favourite. It’s a good photo and the monkeys look so contented.

    • Thanks Maralee… I took so many and still must work them, but finding sitting in front of the computer for too long gets painful, but I will post more… I love these little chaps.

  5. Aaaawwww! Now you’ve made me home-sick for the KZN coast. The pictures are all gorgeous and just as I used to see them from my balcony. I loved watching the antics of the little ones in the shrubs and on small trees. Unfortunately, due to people feeding them during the school holidays, they became too used to stealing from homes and flats. I have had several inside my flat looking for food, which was well hidden away. One day, though, a cheeky monkey opened a kitchen cupboard and made off with a jar of peanut butter.

    • They are so full up in Marina Beach and visited by us everyday at the wood cabin… there are tons of the strilizias and the leechee trees are full of fruit, they just loved sitting there by us as though we were part of the family… they would sit on the stoep with me as if I wasn’t there…

  6. Beautiful…and even moving pictures. Isn’t it amazing that the expression of love transcends humans. These guys show more love than I have seen in some people’s photo albums.

    When I was a child, one of my “unusual” wishes for a pet was a monkey…not the ones you have above, but a spider monkey. I guess it’s just as well that my parents said “No”, the poor guy would not really have been suited for domestic life.

    • Thanks Mrs.P. I do agree these monkeys show so much love and protection, I can sit and watch them all day, their hierarchy and communication, is so obvious to see and their obedience to authority is unbelievable… love them but don’t want one as a pet, they are much nicer to watch in their natural surroundings…

  7. Wow! I am constantly amazed by what you see right at your back door whereever you are staying. It is like something out of a fantasy to me or something that I could only ever see on a wildlife TV show or in books. These are extraordinary shots Bulldog, especially the one of the mother and child looking into each other’s eyes. It warmed my heart :). Thank you once again for sharing with us.

    • It stays one of the pleasures I enjoy everyday, sharing what we see… one tends to forget that others don’t live like we do… but thank you for such a complement…

  8. I think these are my absolute favorite pictures of yours so far. They are so beautiful that they brought a tear to my eye. Your comments were perfect with them, as well. Thank you for starting my day out so perfectly!! Hope you are feeling better and not in too much pain!!

    • Thank you Skye… they really posed so well I took a lot of photos… haven’t had the time to work all of them yet, but these are a few of my favourites… taking stuff for the pain.. saw a Doctor and he told me to remove the brace, I’m apparently better off without it and just taking it easy for a while… but thanks for the wishes…

      • You are very welcome…continuing to pray for you. Make sure you drink lots of water. It helps with joint and muscle pains greatly. Dehydration just slows healing. 🙂

All comments are welcome... please...Write something.. go on, let your voice be heard...

