The Fat Finger Syndrome…

When the eyes go to hell,

The fingers seem to swell,

And trying to hit a letter,

Definitely gets no better.

Well this is the corrected verse that started off like this.

Whren the eyes gho to hell,

The fingers seenm to swelkl,

And trying to jit a letter.

Definitely gets mno better.

Trying my best to finish the last chapter of my book, becomes a task of understanding fingers that struggle to keep up with the brain. I have never have been able to look at the screen and type at the same time, so it is only when I look up to see what I’ve type that I discover a comedy of errors.

Typing with my two middle fingers seems to confuse everyone that watches me, yet I can pound out the words at a fair speed. The problem is that my hands tend to obscure my sight of the keys and hitting two keys seems to be too damn easy. It gets some funny results though as you can see from the above short verse.

The book which I started and then lost all confidence in, due to the fact I doubted other people would be interested in it, came to a grinding halt. No matter how much Linda encourage me it would just not continue to write itself. I tried and then hit the proverbial wall.

Something I read in a guest post hit the button, write and do it for myself and don’t worry about the publishing. This was encouragement enough to soldier on and somehow I’ve pounded out the words to near completion. 125 000 odd words just seemed too many, and a very quick edit reduced this down to 85 000 of which I am very happy.

Linda loves the stories and the humour, she is not easy to please when it comes to books, yet this one she loves, so maybe I have a winner.

I am enjoying the humour of the “fat finger syndrome” and specially the Microsoft Word corrective feature… you should see some of the suggestion on the spell check… in some cases I’m totally confusing the poor program.

56 thoughts on “The Fat Finger Syndrome…

  1. I agree with Linda finish the book if for nothing more than yourself. Put me on the list of one of the first autographed copies! Anxiously awaiting. Finish it my friend!

  2. Your post reminds me of a true story from my first job after leaving school many moons ago. It was in a solicitor’s office and in the days of typists and typing pools. Of course, they never looked at the keyboard while typing. One particular lady was renowned for great accuracy and fast typing at more than 100 words per minute. One day she was typing legal documents in respect of land for sale at a place called Dukinfield, which is near Manchester in England. You can guess what happened; she hit a capital “F” instead of “D”. Just imagine the comments that came back from some of the thirty or so building companies that received the documents (mostly good humoured). Needless to say, they all had to be redone.

  3. A book with photographs, I hope! But, I won’t hold you to it. Can’t wait to read it, Rob. I’m following the link to the opening post now! Keep at it until it’s published! 🙂

  4. If you complete this you can say I gave it my best bash, but if you leave it you will forever think back and say I gave up. Best of luck, I find writing very difficult.

  5. When I was in my 20’s, a young pastor was teaching me to play guitar. He was a chubby guy and although I tried to learn the chords from him I could not always see past his chubby fingers. One day he said, on a day when I was especially frustrated, “Diana, why aren’t you just copying where my fingers are?” And I shot back, “because I can’t see past your sausage fingers!”

  6. Your typing description is what I go through fairly often when I try to reply to a post too early, not having given myself enough time to see…and not enough coffee. Love spell check but I sure don’t break any records.

    GO LINDA…keep giving him those swift kicks, mixed with love , of course…until he gets himself published. Absolutely…Write for you…and you will love it. I already know I love it based on the teaser you gave us.

  7. This had me cracking up. I could just imagine your face and the frustration. I am so proud of you that you are continuing on with your dream and not letting anything hold you back. You are an inspiration to me. Truly. Holding you both in prayer!! Skye

  8. I hope you keep your original copy – just in case – and each copy thereafter. About touch-typing, I think the thing is to have confidence and you will surprise yourself. My very first job consisted of figure/number typing and I c-r-a-w-led along until I thought ‘What the */*%* and tried it without looking at the screen. Lo and behold I went from strength to strength and there was no looking back…

  9. I hope what you pruned was indeed straggly growth. 120 000-plus words is about the average for my kids’ literature.
    I have proved that one is never too old to convert from an eyes-on-keyboard-and-peck style to fast touch-typing. Takes dedication, though!

    • Thanks for that info Col… I was worried that I had a bit of duplication and the trimming was in fact to sort that out… I think some will come back with the first edit, but probably not as much as I have trimmed… I tend to be a bit verbose and this is what I’ve trimmed with the intention to rewrite with less bumph… as to the converting to eye on keys to the other… don’t think I’ll ever get it right… lol

    • It was just the way I read the post… it struck a cord and away I went… I think I was trying to write for an audience and this encouraged me to write for myself… made it so much easier for some reason… hope you clear yours soon…

All comments are welcome... please...Write something.. go on, let your voice be heard...

