Kgalagdi Transfrontier park… A Place of Beauty..

I’m going to let the photos speak for themselves… but first a joke I heard about American Tourists….

A group of Americans were traveling by tour bus through Switzerland. As they stopped at a cheese farm, a young guide led them through the process of cheese making, explaining that goat’s milk was used. She showed the group a lovely hillside where many goats were grazing.
‘These,’ she explained, ‘are the older goats put out to pasture when they no longer produce.’ She then asked, ‘What do you do in America with your old goats?’
A spry old gentleman answered, ‘They send us on bus tours!’

Funny they do the same to us here….

160

209

When having a picnic in the park… do keep your eyes open… specially when going to the Loo…

210

‘cause we’ll be watching you… if you’re constipated, one of these knocking on the door is guaranteed to aid the cause.. 

219

218

217

223

and just down the road this guy will be waiting to see if you made it….

177

56 thoughts on “Kgalagdi Transfrontier park… A Place of Beauty..

  1. Your humor is the icing on the cake – all I do is laugh. The lion shots just take my breath away. Would love to see one from your camera – up close and personal! Gorgeous photos!

  2. I have always thought their heads were so hugely magnificent! My head would easily fit into his mouth. CRUNCH! Perish the thought! But I would love to live in a game park!

  3. Great cover photo. Are those huge nests in the trees at the picnic spot? I’d rather “knuip” than go there but then again that might not be a good idea if I met Mr Lion face to face.

    • Thank you for the nomination I do appreciate it and will add it to a special file I have… but I don’t do awards, probably because I don’t know how to add them to the blog, but I do appreciate the nominations…

  4. Whahahahaha! Love the joke Rob and of course you’ll get me out of that restroom fast when Mr Lion pokes his head in. LOL! Great shots my friend. *hugs*

    • I saw a photo of a lioness leaving the toilet, apparently if someone doesn’t close the outer door they go in to drink… that could be quite a frightening experience as you enter…

  5. Bahaha!! Loved the fat ass comment :). I always love the way you combine beautiful photos and knowledge with a little splash of humour. What a wonderful experience to be that up close and personal with such beautiful creatures!

    • Anneli you would love it… there is nothing nicer than being up close to these big cats… one must just learn to read the signs and you are safe… most of the time they are full and lazy, nothing as lazy as a fully stuffed Lion…

          • Isn’t it funny how the locals always hate what happens to their privacy and the changes that comes with tourism and yet we’re all told we must have it for the good of our economy. It’s the same here. But if I ever come there, I’ll be sure to read all the signs.

            • Do a tour with a local rather than a tour company.. they talk the biggest load to sensationalize everything.. Linda and I with a Doctor friend and his son took a night drive that take tourists to see what these type say… it was all the biggest load of rubbish and the Americans lapped it up… we sat at the back sneezing “Bullsh…T” into our hands every time he said something… He even asked me to take a beam from my spot light off an elephant as it would charge… he was a third of my age and could not tell me a thing about animal behavior… so if you go on a tour of our Parks phone me I’ll give you the tour…

              • That sounds so typical! It’s the same here. I think the best way to see places is with friends who know the area. I appreciate your offer. Don’t hold your breath though. It’s a long way from here to South Africa. But what a fantastic dream vacation that would be.

  6. Stunning photos as always … the lions are just so majestic – this with being careful going to the loo .. happens to a friend when he was on a safari in SA. They were looking out for lions the whole day .. without luck, but in the middle of the night when he went to the loo .. there was one steering at him. He hardly made it to the loo … the guard was on guard .. and nobody got harmed. *smile

    • A couple were caught in their tent in the Kgalagadi for a whole day with lion sleeping in the shadow of their tent… what an experience… Thanks Viveka…

      • Wow … they look very soft and cuddly .. but they are the king of the jungle of the savanna. My friend he told me he has still shaky after a couple of
        At my first visit in Chicago .. I visit Lincoln Park Zoo – free entrance .. the the park was filled with kids – 100 and 100 and they had all different color baseball caps one color for each school. At the lion mountain they had a glass wall and their was this massive female lion sleeping with her paw against the glass … I think she did on propose. She was an old lady .. she was very white around her mouth. And the excitement with the kids when they could put their hand against hers .. was priceless .. I did it too – and it was a fantastic feeling … her paw was 3 times bigger than my hand That moment was just magical – the whole zoo was so brilliant – just in the middle of Chicago.

All comments are welcome... please...Write something.. go on, let your voice be heard...

