The Beauty of the Beast…

When one witnesses the kill of a lion, it is with a certain amount of sorrow for the victims demise, yet for the Lion’s survival it is necessary. The lion, however is a majestic beast and considered the King of the Jungle. The king of the jungle can be disputed when one watches the video on YouTube a link to which I add here…. (do go and look, all involved survive the encounter)

But the beauty of a lion male is in disputable… his majestic look is there for all to see, and those in the Kgalagadi are probably the most beautiful… But they are so damn lazy…

366

They even look as though they’re dead…

361

Fortunately they occasionally raise their heads enabling a good capture…

359

228

226

and then this guy looks over to two of his mates that are “spooning”, do you know what spooning is ??

You married people should know.. I do it every night…

225

224

I hope I don’t upset anyone with this joke, but I did enjoy it…. “Once upon a time, a lion, a tiger, and a bear were sitting on a hill. They were getting hungry. Below them, three men walked by, a Frenchman, an Italian and a Czech man. The lion said ‘I haven’t had French food in a while’. So, he ran off and ate the French man. The tiger said, ‘I’m hungry for some Italian food’. So, he ran off and ate the Italian man. The bear looked at the sole remaining man, and said ‘I guess it’s my turn to spring for the Czech’!” … not a good joke… maybe this one is better…

Two lions were sitting outside a clinic. One of them was crying like hell. So the other asked, “Why are you crying?” The first one replied, “I came here for a blood test” Second one asked, “So, are you afraid?” First one replied, “No, not that. During the blood test they cut my finger.” Hearing this, the second lion started crying. The first one was astonished and asked the other, “Why are you crying?” The other replied, “I have come for my urine test.”

68 thoughts on “The Beauty of the Beast…

  1. Stunning shots! This animal is one of my very favorites. You captured the essence of their beauty. I can’t even imagine anyone wanting to shoot this breathtaking animal. And . . . the joke is priceless! hehe

  2. So a man took his elephant into a bar and they both proceeded to get very drunk. The elephant fell over and the man started to stagger out leaving the elephant behind. The barman yelled. “Hey! You can’t leave that lyin’ there!” The drunk said, “That’s not a lion. That’s an elephant!”
    Is that the worst joke you’ve ever heard?

  3. This is the first animal photo that you have taken that reminds me of you! LOL Laying out on the ground lounging in the sun! Hope your well!

  4. oh the flipping of the lion was unreal. glad they all survived. And they are gorgeous when they sleep and they look so cozy. I wish I slept that soundly and that often. Loved the jokes–I’m a fan of cheese.

    • Thanks TBM… there are so many like video clips where some are just running for their lives… I have actually witnessed it and even had a lion hide behind my van to get away from the Buffalo…

  5. Enjoyed the snippet of real life in the park in the video and of course the photos of the lazy old lion. It got me thinking about how long lions live for. A quick check on the internet said 10 – 14 years in the wild and a bit longer in captivity. That’s something new I’ve learned today.

  6. haha that 2nd one is hilarious! As a child, watching wildlife shows I was mortified that those filming did not rescue the prey! In the wild, animals kill to survive…it’s only humans who sometimes wastefully kill for no reason or selfish gain such as the horns from a Rhino or the fins of a shark…

  7. Bah ha ha!!!! Both joke are awesome LOL! Lions are such amazing creatures. When I watch shows about lions on TV, I’m always fascinated by the extreme difference between their lazy resting state and the incredible power they exhibit during a hunt.

  8. Rob, that second joke is priceless …. I laughed out load. The first one I didn’t get at first .. but after reading the end line I got it. Pretty good, but not as the second. Your photos I don’t have to figure out – your lion shots are spot on. What a magnificent animal they are. Some weight in that alpha male – he are so beautiful.
    Whenever I see lions in any TV program they always sleep or lazy, when do they hunt ???? Evening???
    I don’t understand how anyone can kill an wild animal if not needed too.

    • They hunt mainly at night, but the males are even then fairly lazy and let the females do the killing and then muscle in to eat… I cannot see why anyone would want to shoot one of these… such beauty in the bush…

      • Greed, Rob … for the skins … and the head of course. Terrible – was with Tigers and Elephants … and the Gorillas. Just terrible and I hope they get proper punishment if caught.

All comments are welcome... please...Write something.. go on, let your voice be heard...

