White-breasted Cormorant… Damn it’s hot…

While America gets hit with the cold Arctic Vortex, we seem to be in the middle of a good warm summer. Sorry about that all my friends suffering cold weather, unusual snow and the coldest its been in 20 years…

I believe it is so cold the local flasher is now describing himself to women…

and the chickens are walking into KFC and begging to use the ovens…

I’m told it’s so cold the Lawyers have got their hands in their own pockets…

Well this bird was sitting next to the water and panting away, I don’t know if the water was too warm or he was just tired, but it did look as though he was suffering from the heat…

 
Sat test 109-1

Sat test 062

Sat test 067

Sat test 074

Sat test 079

and then others seem happy to fly off to the water…

better

57 thoughts on “White-breasted Cormorant… Damn it’s hot…

  1. This Cormorant seems to have a little drama going on in the third photo, which is my favorite. Excellent shots. You are amazing!

  2. Your bird shots always make me so happy Bulldog. I finally captured a few shots of a heron in a tree the other day, when the sun finally decided to shine.

  3. I’m wondering if it was that kind or one of the other cormorants we used to refer to as ‘duikers’ when I lived at The Heads, and for which Duiker Rock and Duiker Rock Bay are named.

    • It more than likely is… one also gets the Cape Cormorant that has no white on the breast found more along the coast… it could be that one from which these places were named…

  4. Good jokes! I think if I were in the middle of that Arctic Blast I’d be reaching for anything to help me laugh! Finally we have a bird I’m familiar with, Rob! I do have ready access to cormorants, although to be honest, I couldn’t tell you if they’re identical. I don’t get close enough to them to see the detail. They’re a funny looking bird, I think, but I’m partial to them. Enjoy your summer heat. It won’t last any more than our cold. 🙂

    • Thank you… I think this bird is pretty common all over the world… so it could be the same specie… our Summer is only now really kicking in Jan and Feb being the hottest months… I love it…

  5. I miss Summer and all the out door fun that goes with it. It’s cold in Houston for the past few weeks. This weekend it’s suppose to be in the 60-70’s & Sunny. We might got fishing in Galveston. Thanks for sharing posts that inspires us to soar as high as this awesome bird my friend. Best of 2014 to you & your family.

  6. It was so cold that a guy broke out of jail and an hour later turned himself in wanting to be taken back to a warm jail – true story. Finally starting to warm here. Love that last shot. I’m having difficulties capturing these birds around here. Do you remember what settings you used on your camera? Aperture? Shutter? Darn things don’t hold still 🙂

    • I would have to look every one up for you.. those settings are not always the same.. I still chop and change and take 50 photos to keep 5 as the settings were wrong along the way… glad to hear the cold is now abating…

  7. I am officially accepting the blame for the cold in the US… Canada forgot to shut the door! I hope you are enjoying every moment of your summer. As per usual, love the photos!

  8. I think those first two birds are just laughing at your jokes!!! Thanks for the giggles and grins over my morning coffee. As always, this post and pictures were over the top awesome. 🙂

  9. When I told Rick the joke about the lawyers having their hands in their own pockets, he said it would NEVER be that cold!

  10. Well, we might not be having a heat wave like you are, but at least the highways are open today, the school buses are running again, and we can actually go outside without worrying that we will have frostbite in less than five minutes. Things are looking up :). Awesome closeup in that first shot!

    • We are going through these peaks and drops it is almost impossible to decide what to wear… to have a cold day in the middle of summer now seems to be a norm…

All comments are welcome... please...Write something.. go on, let your voice be heard...

