Andy Rooney… a brilliant thought of his…

Andy an American radio and television writer, was most notable for his weekly broadcast "A Few Minutes with Andy Rooney," he died on November 4, 2011, at age 92.

But his wisdom was undeniable, take the statement he made below on woman over 40 and older…. I agree with him on this all the way

“As I grow in age, I value women who are over forty most of all.

Here are just a few reasons why:

A woman over forty will never wake you in the middle of the night to ask, “What are you thinking?” She doesn’t care what you think.

If a woman over forty doesn’t want to watch the game, she doesn’t sit around whining about it. She does something she wants to do. And, it’s usually something more interesting. (Thank the Lord for this)

A woman over forty knows herself well enough to be assured in who she is, what she is, what she wants and from whom. Few women past the age of forty give a hoot what you might think about her or what she’s doing.

Women over forty are dignified. They seldom have a screaming match with you at the opera or in the middle of an expensive restaurant. Of course, if you deserve it, they won’t hesitate to shoot you, if they think they can get away with it. (So true)

Older women are generous with praise, often undeserved. They know what it’s like to be unappreciated.

A woman over forty has the self-assurance to introduce you to her women friends. A younger woman with a man will often ignore even her best friend because she doesn’t trust the guy with other women. Women over forty couldn’t care less if you’re attracted to her friends because she knows her friends won’t betray her.

Women get psychic as they age. You never have to confess your sins to a woman over forty. They always know. (Unfortunately)

A woman over forty looks good wearing bright red lipstick. This is not true of younger women. Once you get past a wrinkle or two, a woman over forty is far sexier than her younger counterpart. (so agree with that, ‘specially if she has a bit of meat on her bones.)

Older women are forthright and honest. They’ll tell you right off if you are a jerk, if you are acting like one! You don’t ever have to wonder where you stand with her.

Yes, we praise women over forty for a multitude of reasons. Unfortunately, it’s not reciprocal. For every stunning, smart, well-coiffed hot woman of forty-plus, there is a bald, paunchy relic in yellow pants making a fool of himself with some twenty-two-year-old waitress. (although bald and paunchy, that is not me, I don’t wear yellow pants.)

Ladies, I apologize.
For all those men who say, “Why buy the cow when you can get the milk for free,” here’s an update for you. Now 80 % of women are against marriage, why? Because women realize it’s not worth buying an entire pig, just to get a little sausage.

game res 18-07-2011 145


66 thoughts on “Andy Rooney… a brilliant thought of his…

  1. I do miss Andy Rooney’s straight-forward talk and words of wisdom. I am proudly in this camp where facades can be stripped away and a woman begins to feel she can be who she was meant to be. I love that last line of yours Bulldog. Perhaps you could be Andy Rooney reincarnate! 🙂

  2. Andy Rooney was the best, and I had never heard his “women over 40” list before. Excellent! And your comment is hilarious. From what I hear from my single friends, there are a lot of pigs out there. LOL!

  3. First, I must tell you that warthogs are one of my favorite animals, they are supposed to be great mothers! Your photos made me smile, but your post just cracked me up. I loved Andy Rooney. Thanks!
    Brenda

    • Brenda, I’ve been treed due to getting to close to a family of these pigs in the wild, the mother was not happy about me surprising her little ones… yet I spent four months in the army where we had a big boar as a mascot who was as tame as a dog, just hated the Medic for some or other reason…

    • one for women over 60 coming up… “Maybe it’s true that life begins at sixty. But everything else starts to wear out, fall out, or spread out.” hows that Sherry and I mean it in the nicest way… lol

  4. you are the second person who post this
    thank god I am not in my thirties yay!
    This is so true! and you are really funny that last line lol!

  5. Whahahahah Rob! This is just hilarious! I must say, all those are true and when you get the over 50 part it just gets easier, especially the shooting part. Then you know you can get away with it because you can claim it was temporary menopausal insanity..hahahahah. I can’t imagine you in yellow pants though but wondering what the pig will look like in one. hahahahah
    Thanks for the laugh and I must say this is one stunning shot of that warthog. Thanks for sharing and for the laugh. *hugs* to you and Linda.

  6. Love this! The photo showed up first in my reader and as I was reading I wondering how it was going to fit in with all the praise about women over forty, so funny! Thanks for the laugh Bulldog! 😀

  7. Great post, thank you Bulldog. I am sure you have been redeemed. LOL I wonder what some of the ladies that are not 40 yet think of this.
    I think people need to bring this up when they give that dreadful over the hill party. ;o)
    Have a blessed day. was the last paragraph you or Andy’s words?

  8. LOVED Andy Rooney, I absolutely adored his weekly broadcasts when I lived in California, and I LOVE this post Bulldog! I’m still laughing-out-loud at your last comeback, wonderful, never heard that one before and I won’t forget it!!
    As a woman on the ‘wrong’ side of 40 (50 even!) I applaud you my friend 🙂

  9. Oh we used to love Andy Rooney and his insights. And I’m turning 40 this year. I’ve never yelled at anyone during an opera–but I’ve never been to one either.

All comments are welcome... please...Write something.. go on, let your voice be heard...

