What you see beside the waters edge…

Oh! I do like to be beside the seaside
I do like to be beside the sea!
I do like to stroll along the Prom, Prom, Prom!
Where the brass bands play:
"Tiddely-om-pom-pom!"

So just let me be beside the seaside
I’ll be beside myself with glee
And there’s lots of girls beside,
I should like to be beside
Beside the seaside!
Beside the sea!

098

Leaf falls to kiss the image of a mountain
The early morning mist has ceased to play 
Birds dancing lightly on the branches by a fountain
Of a waterfall which dazzles with its spray

Tall and strong and aged, contented and serene
The kauri tree surveys this grand domain
For miles and miles around him, a sea of rolling green
Tomorrow all this beauty won’t remain

Thanks to John Hanlon’s lyrics from “Damn the Dam” a New Zealand folk song.

What do we see beside the rivers dammed…..

game res 18-07-2011 201

game res 18-07-2011 211

game res 18-07-2011 212

game res 18-07-2011 213

2007_0325incomming0155

053

51 thoughts on “What you see beside the waters edge…

  1. Just catching up with your blog after the weekend. It’s a pleasure to see the wonderful wildlife all around you. Seeing the Leguaan is a first for me.

  2. Thanks Bulldog..now it’s your turn to put a little ditty in MY head, lol! Can’t stop singing it… 🙂 Great pics as always but the one of the elephant family is absolutely classic…

  3. I’ll be singing that song all day now, Rob! 😉

    The picture of the large lizard (I don’t know what other name to call it – is it an iguana?) looks like it’s had a chunk bitten out of it’s tail at some time. These are fabulous pics (as usual) 😀

    • No we call it a leguaan better known as a river monitor.. the teeth marks will be those of another leguaan, they often fight with a good grip of the tails to stop a dangerous swipe putting them down, this one appears to have been on the loosing end…

  4. Love those pictures! But that single crocodile looks like he’s been in a fight or two, looks like he got bit in the tail and has the marks to prove it! 😉

    Reminds me how much I miss California. In Florida, there is lots of water…most of it has alligators. I love the water, to swim in it, boat, etc. But, I can’t stand the thought of being gator bait…so I look upon all of that water…wistfully…only feeling somewhat safer in the ocean…with the sharks.

    • The single is a leguaan or river monitor and I’m sure got the mark from another one in a fight, seems to have lost the battle… thanks Mrs P. just don’t think of alligators when swimming in the river, that easy… lol

  5. Wonderful pictures of the creatures in your part of the world! Love the bit about the sea as well, having grown up not far from the ocean~!

  6. Great shots, Bulldog! Some of them made me feel not so bad about not reaching some of my weight-loss goals!! Quite the hind quarters goin’ on!! 😀 Thanks!!

    • I have lost 16 kg in three months and am now back down to my fighting weight of 120 kg… am feeling much better for it… keep at it you’ll reach your goal weight…

          • You are killing me….BD, I gave up all sugar, processed foods, all white flour, all gluten, and dairy. I eat farm-raised lean meats, vegetables and fruits. Sigh…the scale will not budge. But, in fairness to me, we have been sick this winter with colds and such, so I have not been active at all. I am hoping once the vacation is over, things will get better–especially with the food blog and all. That is a huge encouragement to me….and a place to be accountable. 🙂 Still want to kick you. 🙂

            • When I need to reduce stomach candida, i follow a diet of just maize meal pap with a tomato and onion gravy, sometimes with red meat in the gravy. Greek yougert being the only dairy product allowed which I’d have in the morning with a rice type cereal. Rooibos tea (no sugar or milk) and that is my diet for the day… however you can eat as much of the pap and gravy as you want twice a day… and drink lots of water… I did this on one occasion and lost 22 kilos in three months… being sick of course does not help matters at all…

              • At this very late hour…when exhaustion is setting in…that sounds positively disgusting. Blech!

                I will read this again in the afternoon. 🙂

                Sweetest of dreams….or best of day to you. I hate time zones. 🙂

All comments are welcome... please...Write something.. go on, let your voice be heard...

