African buffalo… Viewable from the Loo…

African buffalo or Cape buffalo (Syncerus caffer)

Between Nelspruit and Middleburg in the Mpumalanga there is a highway rest stop. We tend to stop here for Linda to buy coffee and to use the restrooms (Loos). I love the men’s room as I can stand and look out of a big glass window at the animals on a farmers land.

This trip all his African Buffalo (my favourite bovine) was at the water hole.

I love this animal for its pure size and power that exudes from it. It is scared of nothing and the size and power of the bulls has been the demise of many a lion.

This trip I saw probably the biggest bull I’ve ever seen.. look at this photo, two bulls having a rub in friendship…

But look at the size of that one on the right compared to that on the left… damn he is BIG…

096

The African buffalo is a very robust species. Its shoulder height can range from 1 to 1.7 m (3.3 to 5.6 ft.) and its head-and-body length can range from 1.7 to 3.4 m (5.6 to 11.2 ft.).

095

Looking at the condition of the one on the right I’d say he was younger than the other… but look at that head size… I am impressed and would avoid walking into this guy if he got upset…. look at his skin, what good condition, this is a bull in its prime….

62 thoughts on “African buffalo… Viewable from the Loo…

  1. ‘Awesome’ is the only word that comes to mind when I see these pics, Rob.

    I had a bit of a goggle about your view from the loo. It reminded me of my hubby who thinks a loo with a view is the best place in the world! LOL 😀

    • They are amazing to watch, specially at breeding time when the bulls very quietly determine the pecking order, no major fights, just a bit of head butting and pushing around…

    • Many a lion has met with the wrong end of those horns…. many a hunter the same… and maybe it is this tenacity to laugh in the face of adversity that makes this animal my favourite… I am a lover of those that have the strength, but never vaunt the fact… these are docile looking herbivores with the quiet power that surprises many….

  2. Oh man..I would hate to get in that bull’s way! He is magnificent indeed but I had to run away from a bull once and so I have nothing but the greatest respect for these magnificent creatures! How lovely to be able to view farm animals from the loos!! Hope the trip is going well Bulldog 🙂

    • Thanks Sherri … back home again now after what I consider a good trip… the Buffalo is not a domesticated animal and if he charged it would probably be a good time to say your prayers… I was charged by a domesticated bull, in fact I owned the damn thing, he had me on the ground while I hung onto his horns,,, when he backed up I taught him a lesson in who was the Boss…. I ran like hell so that he knew he was…

  3. WOW! What an animal he is. I love the horns. They fascinate me. They look as if they’re painted on hair pieces. I wonder how much of that horn mass is attached to the head? I love the way they look too, Rob, and the sheer power of them. Great shots, too! 🙂

    • Thank you George… the boss of the horn is part of the skull an all in one construction that can even stop, or deflect a bullet in some cases…

  4. I would sit in the loo all day long and take photo’s of these beauties! LOL! I’m sure Linda had to drag you out of there Rob. 😆
    Great captures. 😀

    • It is one place where the men take longer than the women in a loo… we have the view and the ladies don’t… some men stand staring out the window long after they have finished, sometimes you have to ask for your turn at the urinal… lol

All comments are welcome... please...Write something.. go on, let your voice be heard...

