Surprise, surprise, surprise… a plant of beauty Kaapsehoop…

Aloe arborescens (krantz aloe, candelabra aloe)

Whilst in the lowveld Linda and I went for a drive up to Kaapsehoop, something to do and of course I love to try and emulate “Awindowsinthewoods” (Click here to see some of her horse photos) by capturing photos of the wild horse of the area.

Leaving Linda at her favourite place (any coffee shop) I took off for a walk on the wild side… did I find a horse or two? No, but I did find huge areas of the Aloe in flower… this made the walk worth it… I never made it to the top as the lungs are not quite up to that as yet.

But with flowers like this who cares about a wild horse or the top of a mountain …. no matter what angle I took this plant from, their numerosity is impossible to capture. But I did try… enjoy “small house/BIG GARDEN” (click here to see her post on the same plant)…

001

003

004

005

008

012

078

I love this photo below…

084

096

75 thoughts on “Surprise, surprise, surprise… a plant of beauty Kaapsehoop…

  1. They certainly put to shame all the tiny houseplant varieties we see here! The flowers really are quite exquisite, aren’t they? I especially like the one with the hovering bumblebee. What an awesome picture!

    • Thanks Joanne… this year they are particularly beautiful and profuse… must have something to do with the high rainfall we’ve received…

    • This aloe has been exported for garden use, as shown in a few blogs I follow of other Americans… seems very popular for it’s medicinal uses..

    • Thank you Carol, I think.. they are attractive but my skills are anything but good when it comes to this type photography… I struggle with settings, composition and generally I’m really not a landscape photographer… so I think in the right hands this areas plants would be depicted really brilliantly… But thank you all the same… I like you…

  2. HI Rob,
    I love this post. I wonder if this is related to the plant we call the Firepoker here in the US. I have one growing in my yard, and am going to look closely to compare when it blooms. I have all your great close up shots to compare it to. (Love that you caught a visiting bee). This is a truly lovely study of unique flora.

    • We also have a “firepoker” plant that people grow here, but it is not an aloe althought the flowers are fairly similar… if my memory is right it has a name like “kniphofia” which is part of a family name in Latin that I would never be able to spell but sounds like xanthoria or something… there are many variations of it and the flowers in a way are similar… I always have known them as “red hot pokers” .. I do believe the plant is from Africa… thanks for the lovely comment…

  3. Great photos. From a distance, they look like little rocket ships; up close, they looks like a collection of corn-dogs on a stick! I never knew aloe plants flowered. I’m always learning new things from you, Rob! 🙂

  4. wow!!! photo 084 is so visually striking!
    What a find! This type of aloe has such an appealing flower structure…I love the branching as much as the bloom.
    thanks for the pingback, too. 🙂

    • Thank you.. it is a lovely plant specially when in the wild like this… I must admit I’ve never seen the bloom so profusely before and was glad to come across them in this state… I took many photos specially those where this plant is growing in the smallest amount of soil on top of the rock formations… how the stay upright is fascinating… the roots have to have anchored on the rocks below the small amount of soil…

    • Thanks Diana… the area and its rock formations make for some interesting photo opportunities… I love the area as such captures are sometimes made unintentionally (like this one) and only spotted when down loaded…

  5. You’ve captured these beauties very well indeed Rob. We also have a few of them here and it’s great seeing the birds and insects enjoying them as well. Stunning shots! 😀

    • Thanks Sonel… I crept around trying to capture the humming birds etc, but with very little success… the light was not of the best so most of the birds were merely dark images… and they were skittish so never hung around for the photo opportunity…

      • Oh, don’t I know that too well! I have lots of dark birds. LOL! The ones here by us are also skittish – and when they’re not, they hide in the leaves. 😀

  6. Oh yes, i love that one too, and the bee … Its always fantastic to see ‘natives’ growing in their natural habitat, looking stunning but so perfectly suited. Nice walk, Bulldog. Hope you’re doing well (better) these days?

    • Thank you.. I do love this plant as much as its healing power.. it is the same family as the aloe vera much studied for its curative powers…

    • Thanks Cindy… I use this one like the aloe vera it being in the same family… difficult cuts etc I will break a tip off the leaf off and apply to wound… heals so quick once applied…

    • This specie grows prolifically in our country and is to be seen in so many different places… the ones on the coast are, for me, the best with a slightly darker flower…

  7. Amazing crop of Aloes. And yes, you certainly did capture how prolific the brightly coloured flowers were.
    They make a nice splash of colour against the rocks.
    Mother Nature did well in her landscaping in this area.

    • Thanks Vicki… to see how they are growing all over the place they seem perfectly placed… if a landscaper tried to emulate this they would never get it right…

All comments are welcome... please...Write something.. go on, let your voice be heard...

