Gotcha…. a successful track, find and stalk…

A favourite past time of mine when visiting Kathu, is the tracking, finding and stalking of the kudu that live near the golf course. They are not tame but are not as skittish as others I’ve tracked…

It is still a huge thrill to firstly find the fresh spoor (tracks) and then to quietly follow the tracks of the animals… and when you find them – spot them first and then stalk them to get as close as possible before they take flight… and here is the photo evidence of my morning entertainment…

First the spotting before the stalking… I see them but they not me…

1

They know I’m out there, they hear me, but can’t see my statue like posture… camera to eye naturally…

2

3

4

5

Then it’s time to move off… away from the danger they sense…

And then on the way home to find a scene like this…

6

57 thoughts on “Gotcha…. a successful track, find and stalk…

  1. These shots are magnificent, Rob. Wow, just wow for that last one!I took a similar one at our inlet and I could never tell which way was up and which way was down 😀

  2. I love that 3rd photo Bulldog. This is such a great capture of that lovely face and beautiful striped rump. We don’t often get a landscape shot from you and this one is exquisite! 🙂

    • Thank you so much Ronnie… yes I do love nature and being privileged enough to have grown up with it and lived with it near me my whole life… and a complement like yours is really so nice to hear… thank you again…

  3. I think they were stalking YOU and just pretending to be suspicious when you got their picture. I’ll bet the bush is abuzz when they here that Bulldog is somewhere out there again with that weird thing attached to his face.
    LOVE, LOVE, LOVE the final image…perfection!

    • Of course I track them… got to keep the know how refreshed in my older mind… I love to follow their tracks specially when you see both old and new spoor… its that learning to follow the right one that is learnt over a long time, and it reminds me of my father and an African friend I had as a kid, both of them taught me all I know today…

    • I forgot to mention Zezeba was the African friend who was 30 odd years older than I was and is today passed on… but my book covers so much of my learning under his guidance …

  4. A pleasure to see the well camouflaged Kudu, and a fine reflection shot to finish your day. Good shooting once again Rob.

All comments are welcome... please...Write something.. go on, let your voice be heard...

