Well I’ll be a monkeys uncle…. something upcoming..

I have been a little quiet yesterday and today as we moved down to Kathu… We have a small house here to move into and that has kept us pretty busy, driving down and then cleaning the house.

No sooner were we finished cleaning up, when the wind came up .. strong enough to blow a few trees down and of course to refill the house full of dust and sand once more….

I mentioned to my son about my flamingo photos. His answer was “Did you take them at Kimberly?”

“WHAT???? where would I find flamingos in Kimberly???” my answer….

“Google it.!!!!”

Is that the only answer one gets these days.??… well I did and that is where the monkey enters the picture… CLICK HERE TO GO TO THRE LINK FROM WHICH I SHARE A FEW FACTS…

How is it I’ve never heard of this before today (yesterday actually)…???????

“The flamingos of Kimberley’s Kamfers Dam offer a rare and lovely sight – thousands upon thousands of these pink birds stretching for as far as the eye can see. This area is one of only four breeding sites in Africa for lesser flamingos and is a must-see for any birder.”

DAMN….(excitement) it is only 2 hours drive from here…

12. flamingos_736_300_80auto_s

Not my photo, but sorry in the future you are about to be inundated by such photos…

“Kamfers Dam is a permanent wetland just minutes by road from the iconic old diamond mining town of Kimberley. Some years there are around 20 000 birds at the dam; but sometimes the population can rocket up to 50 000 birds and more.”

see-flamingos-at-kamfers-dam_main

“The lesser flamingos flock to this dam because it has an abundance of algae, the favoured food of these filter-feeders. Apparently the amount of algae in the dam has been put at 750 000kg.”

maxresdefault

Sorry all… I will be visiting there next week and you can be assured I will insure every battery I have is charged and ready… and then….. MORE FLAMINGO PHOTOS…. yahoooooooooo….

49 thoughts on “Well I’ll be a monkeys uncle…. something upcoming..

  1. I can just feel how excited you are about finding this flamingo sanctuary, Rob. Isn’t it just fabulous when we discover something we didn’t already know and the adventure is relatively close to home! It will be great to see the eventual photos…you’ll have to spend a lot of time there if you’re going to manage photos of up to 50,000 birds! 🙂

    • I cannot believe that this place has not come to my attention before…. apparently this place has attracted birds for ever but they migrated elsewhere to breed. The local birders wondered if they would breed there and when they had moved off built an s shaped island to see what would happen… it worked as they now breed there….
      On our way down to Kathu we passed a pan with lessor flamingo on it… I took photos not knowing that these are from the migratory birds that come down to Kimberly … I could not believe my eyes when I saw them as it was before my son mentioned the dam …

  2. Oh, how frustrating – you got to clean up so soon after being done. But then, all that frustration would have quickly disappeared with that bit of good news. I am looking forward to your flamingo photos.

  3. All those flamingos in one place will be an incredible sight and experience. I look forward to seeing your shots and hearing all about it.

  4. How exciting for you, just when you’ve been talking about how much you like these birds, you find this in your backyard! Well, not quite your backyard, but near enough! Look forward to seeing what you capture.

  5. wow that is a lot of birds in one area. I can understand their reasoning though if the food is that good. We have a friend visiting – called in at our favourite supplier of apple turnovers, I’ve had two today! Yum, yum. Can’t wait to see your photos of the area and of the flamingos – I KNOW they’ll be awesome.

    • Thanks Jan… I can’t wait to get to the site… they say Oct is the best month number wise….
      Apple turnovers ???? Oh dear and you managed to restrict yourself to two???? How do you do that,??? I’m known to clean up in one day of anything like that… bring 6 for me and they’re all gone in no time….

All comments are welcome... please...Write something.. go on, let your voice be heard...

