Three-banded Plover… why not a Lapwing.??

With a little time on my hands I once more return to the question.. lapwing or plover… Now this bird is known as a plover and always has been.. yet others that I have known as such have now become lapwings… I still wait for some expert to explain to me why some have changed and others not…

The three-banded plover, or three-banded sandplover (Charadrius tricollaris), is a small wader. This plover is resident in much of eastern and southern Africa mainly on inland rivers, pools, and lakes. Its nest is a bare scrape on the ground. This species is often seen as single individuals, but it will form small flocks. It hunts by sight for insects, worms and other small insects. Three-banded plover has a sharp whistled weeet-weet call. …

The adult three-banded plover is 18 cm in length. It has long wings and a long tail, and therefore looks different from most other small plovers in flight….. and here are a few photos… not that good…

014

014-1

013

012-1

008-1

48 thoughts on “Three-banded Plover… why not a Lapwing.??

  1. We have these and they’re called lapwings or plovers (sorry, a lot of confusion here too) 😉 They actually like to build their nests and lay their eggs on the train tracks for the ‘locos’ that take the sugar cane to the mill. Most of the drivers know this and will stop, shuffle them off the track and then continue on their way.

  2. I had just finished reading your apology about the pictures in this post not bring so terrific, when I scrolled down to the first one: a delightful shot of the “Lap-ver” and his reflection. So I will never believe a disclaimer from you again. I have combined the names of both birds for you.

  3. I just realized what different lives we lead, Rob. You contemplate the genus or species of the winged wonder in front of you and I contemplate which crap I should take with me or leave behind when I move. By the way, Scrappy is definitely coming with me… 😉

    • This is the confusing fact Diana… the Latin name has remained the same… so they have not reclassified the species… the old book gives the same Latin name as the new book, the old book refers to it as a plover, but the new book the refers to it as a “Lapwing (Plover)” now the brackets tell me it can also be called a plover, but where did the Lapwing come from that is what I need to know…
      I know with the trees that are being reclassified they are going away from the “discoverers” name and now giving it the tree family name… but that is in the Latin name, and I can go with that, but the birds are staying the same Latin name but receiving a different name… and that is my confusion…

All comments are welcome... please...Write something.. go on, let your voice be heard...

