The Tenacious Leopard… not my usual post…

This is not the type of posts that I put on my blog, but because of the last few post of lion and leopard I’ve ended with some good discussions… So I decided to show the danger of the leopard by sharing a few video clips from Youtube…

The first is a leopard being released back into the wild and is not too graphic but shows their agility and how dangerous they can be…

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RPEFMMqXfow

The second is a hand raised leopard being filmed by our famous travelling TV producer and his team… this young leopard (tame they say) decides to bite a camera man… also not to graphic but does show one should not play with these animals and that you might be able to take it out of the wild, but you’ll never take the wild out of it…

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=s7eKXQ7bb4s

The third I will not recommend you watch if you don’t want to see an animal being killed… this is a video of hunters following a wounded leopard and it comes into attack the hunter doing some lovely damage to him before being killed… I did not enjoy watching this one as the beautiful animal is killed instead of the hunter… but for those of you brave enough watch the tenacity of this beautiful cat…

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=U-JnCbR83VA

I would far rather see them like in my photos, and here is another to remind you of their beauty…

more 1

more 2

30 thoughts on “The Tenacious Leopard… not my usual post…

  1. At last getting to this post Bulldog, as I did want to watch the videos before commenting. Wow, you are right about the leopard and not in the least surprised. Just goes to show how even after all the ‘domesticity’, they are still wild animals and can go off without so much a blink. I found these videos incredibly educational (so sad about the last one though)…reminding us to have such great respect for nature. Your photos gorgeous always…but as for those hunters…well, I’m with you…

    • I know of cases where the leopard one against the hunters… one had his scalp pulled right off and hung in his face with the leopard biting through his scalp… the only problem it took the poor ;leopard two odd weeks to die from its wounds… bloody hunters…

  2. Thanks for raising my blood pressure about 50 points! That leopard was seriously seeking revenge on the ranger.You live in tough country, Rob.I watched the 1st video, but couldn’t watch the others. Your pictures are always a delight.

    And to think how startled I was this summer when a large snake darted in front of me in my garden…as Albert Einstein said, Everything is relative.”

  3. I got to look at the first video. It was scary. Poor guy, but why did he have to poke the leopard repeatedly. I think that he should have treated the animal a little more gently. I may be wrong but I was expecting that his ranger training would have made him more knowledgeable about leopards and such. I am glad though that he survived.

    • That’s why I said its not my usual… don’t feel bad I dont enjoy it either , but felt I shoukd share considering the comments I was receiving and returning… I think the leopard is greatly underestimate d

  4. WOW! I don’t think I have ever seen anything with more power or instinct to kill than in these videos. Just like anything that is powerful and has great force, one must learn to respect it…and never turn your back on it. I’m with you, I think these beautiful creatures need to be given the space and freedom intended for them and the only shots should be those from a lens…a very powerful lens at a great distance. You should be proud of these photos. It shows great skill and respect.

  5. Aitsa – wat ‘n kat! Dankie vir al jou mooi fotos, ek het dit baie geniet. Het ook maar liewer nie die 3rde video gekyk nie, wil nie my aand spoil nie – soos hulle sê.
    Luiperds bly maar my gunsteling van die Groot Vyf, en oor jare het ek gesien, wilde diere tem jy nie maklik nie …

  6. A good dose of reality Rob. They may look cute at times, but they are ultimately (large) wild animals with natural instincts running through their veins.

  7. I prefer looking at your beautiful photos of these amazing animals as well Rob. Those are not kitties you can play with as they are very unpredictable. Not even I will take any chances with them. I love Animal Planet’s videos. The third one I won’t watch. Thanks for the warning. 😀

  8. Those men all got what they deserved – also not what I was saying to my screen while watching. Beautiful action shot, Bulldog, of Leopard jumping in tree – you’re right your photo’s are much better. I have enjoyed this series of posts. thanks. Laura

All comments are welcome... please...Write something.. go on, let your voice be heard...

