Patience … You either got it or you ain’t…

I suffer badly from Impatience, I hate to wait, I don’t want things to run a slow course, when something is to happen it must happen….. NOW….

This is how I feel about my camera.. It left America, went to Europe and then found its way here. Here it has taken as long to clear customs as it took to wend its way from America. That, unfortunately, is what we refer to here as “Africa time.”

Now it must make its way 66 kilometres to our nearest Post Office in Pretoria and then, when they feel the need, they will let my daughter know it is ready for collection….

She will then collect it for me and put it on a courier to where we are at present…. I think my poor daughter is already sick of receiving phone calls from Dad asking if it’s there yet…

Anyway, while we wait, here are a few photos I reworked from a while back and somehow happier with them this time.. They are of our Giant Kingfisher… enjoy while we wait…

Rietvlei 4-05-2012 185

Rietvlei 4-05-2012 187

Rietvlei 4-05-2012 190

Rietvlei 4-05-2012 191

Rietvlei 4-05-2012 206

30 thoughts on “Patience … You either got it or you ain’t…

  1. Oh your kingfisher’s markings are so different from our belted kingfisher’s! This one almost looks as it has bitten off more than it could chew, lol.
    Hope your wait for the new camera is soon over and you will have the joy of learning to use a new toy!

  2. I’m having a hard time imagining how your pictures can be any more beautiful than they already are, but I will continue to anxiously await, along with you, for the slowest traveling camera in Africa.

  3. Another IMPATIENT Pretoria resident calling…..do not be too enthusiastic as the post here has a backlog of over three months. This is Africa! Hoping your new camera arrives safely for you to continue enthralling your loyal fans with your amazing photos. The Kingfisher is a cheer up Bulldog. 🙂

  4. I’m not very patient either and it is why I loathe shopping at this time of year. I try to most of it online. Now back to your kingfisher. He is amazing! We have one outside our house that sits on a tree and dive bombs the water. They look slightly different but the same sort of shape and beak. Great shots!

  5. Amazing photos, bulldog. Africa time can be very frustrating. Is the Post Office up and running again? I’m wondering if it’s worth posting Christmas cards to friends and family there. My granddaughter hasn’t even received her birthday cards which were posted in October. 😦

  6. I can understand your impatience. When I want something, I want it NOW.

    I smiled at your reference to Africa Time. When we were in Tanzania, our guide would respond to many of our questions about the odd / perplexing / annoying situations with T.I.A (This Is Africa) 🙂

    Love your pictures … that seems to be one very ambitious bird trying to eat something as big as he is!

  7. I’m also very impatient – and I can’t stand incompetence….I thought I would grow out of it! But have you noticed we can wait for hours for the perfect shot – for the sun to go down, or that bird move…just there. I can spend hours helping a child who can’t pick out letters – but won’t wait for someone to finish a private call in a shop!
    LOVE the giant kingfisher – (PS – I tried to take a pic of a crab the other day, through the water…didnt come off – you can’t see the crab – but the pic is …ummm interesting!)

  8. Great photos Rob. For me, this kingfisher seems to have a prehistoric look about it. I know what you mean about having to wait for your new camera. In our modern world we want everything to be instant (even us oldies).

  9. What a fantastic catch of a photo! I love the Kingfisher anyway, and caught in the act, he’s a star. Your camera will come soon, I hope, Rob, and I would be just as eager. I hope it comes really soon and you can get out there and really play! Serious play! 🙂

  10. Wow – besonderse fotos. Jy behoort trots op hierdie fotos te wees. Lyk amper of die Kingfisher te veel vir sy grootte afgehap het …
    Ek is saam jou opgewonde oor die kamera … weet dit is vir jou belangrik

  11. Great series. Interesting feather detail on your Kingfisher.

    ……..I know how you feel about the new camera, Bulldog.
    They say ‘a watched kettle never boils’ and I would think you’re probably saying ‘a watched postbox remains empty’. Patience is a virtue I’ve learned in recent years, but when it comes to new photography gear, I want it NOW (also).

  12. Boy after that, what will you be waiting for. LOL it seems as much as we hate it, at this age it is still something to look forward to.

  13. All good things come to those who wait……. I’m sure it is worth waiting for and STOP ANNOYING YOUR DAUGHTER – that won’t make it come any quicker LOL. Poor My Crab 😦 Sometimes I don’t like nature – although I know it is just nature.

All comments are welcome... please...Write something.. go on, let your voice be heard...

