Happy Birthday from WordPress… 3rd..

As I’ve just posted on the difficulty of keeping up I receive notice from WordPress of a 3rd anniversary..

Stats show that 3 years seems to be the norm for most before they tend to fade half into the background… is this to happen to me?

I love the blogging experience and the friends I’ve made all over the world, as well as the fact that Google tends to keep some of my posts high on the first page search and this gets me reads from many sources… Busman’s Hole and Sishen Railway line being two of the most popular….

My new camera will soon bring me back with a vengeance as next month we are going for a visit to the Kgalagadi Gemsbok Park where last year I took nearly 3000 photos with my old camera… my new one is likely to take more as it has that extra bit for the photos that last time were not good enough to share.

I mean look at this zoom…. see the island boxed? Do you think there is anything on it?

DSCF1662

Well here is actually what is there…. and this is just the zoom without any crop….

DSCF1663

I love this camera……

DSCF1621

Have a good day…..

86 thoughts on “Happy Birthday from WordPress… 3rd..

  1. There may be something to that 3 year mark as my blogging has definitely changed. Perhaps we need not fade away, just take a different approach. I’m looking forward to you sharing your upcoming trip Bulldog. 🙂

  2. I do enjoy your posts. I have to agree that 3 years is about right before people drop slowly away from blogging. I have, certainly, but it’s also because I can’t do it regularly, raise my kids, and move forward on my novels. Happy 3rd year of blogging!

  3. Happy 3rd Blogging Anniversary! Your blog is always an entertaining read, and you write in your natural voice which makes one feel right at home. Good luck with your new equipment, I know you’ll do it justice!!

  4. Wow that zoom is amazing bulldog – what a camera – it’s so clear! Regarding the 3-year life span of the average blogger, I wonder if that’s when most blogs run out of storage and one has to start paying to continue?

    Can’t wait to see the photos from your trip bulldog! ❤
    Diana xo

  5. Your new camera could be just the oomph you need to keep going…not to mention all us lovely folk here, haha 🙂 I hope you keep going Bulldog…love your blog…and you can’t get rid of me that easy…

  6. I just got notice of my 3 year anniversary late last month. And look, we’re both still here 🙂 That zoom on the new camera looks like way too much fun. Have a great time on your trip and I look forward to plenty of photos.

  7. Awesome zoom – I’m glad you are having fun with it. I really struggled to decide which one to buy. There are so many to choose from. Eventually, I went to my very best photos and looked to see what the specs were. None were at full zoom (mostly cos at full zoom, the photos are blurred and may be because of the camera.) I compromised with a Panasonic TZ1000 with a 25-400 zoom. I chose to go for the large sensor…Also, I believe it is very customisable unlike the Olympus SP 800UZ I have now. I mostly take landscapes so didn’t go for the super zoom this time. Unfortunately, my new camera is stuck in Harare!!!I can’t wait to try it out.

    • I like your camera choices… went for this as birds are not the most co-operative things in the world, and that being my passion …. but I am a fujifilm fan and always will be…. some of my birds I never get close enough to for a good photo, but I use it for ID purposes as well, and as I’m trying to capture all the SA birds….

      • My first camera was a fujipix. A really great camera for its time. I nearly bought one again. But I also liked my Panasonic. This olympus I’m using now is not very good. Not at all in the class of the other two

      • I’ve been surprised how many bird names I have learned since I began photographing them. I think I like to capture the ‘ordinary.’ The everyday things that catch your eye – bring that smile to your dial…I also like trees!

  8. I know this is not an advertising site, but you don’t say what kind of camera you have! And happy anniversary – blogging (hate the word) can be difficult. I forget to do it!
    I stumbled on your site compl,etely by accident it’s very interesting and well written
    Xixi

    • Thanks … I have the fujifilm HS50EXR and HS10 both cameras of my choice…I love the fujifilms ease of carry and ease of point and shoot without the massive lens sticking out on the end of a camera….

  9. I always enjoy your photos and your thoughts – If you are so inclined, I look forward to your next three years of blogging.

  10. Wow that camera is amazing! Happy WP birthday!
    I know what you mean about feeling disillusioned, I’ve felt that way myself lately, I’ve had to seriously reduce the people I follow as it’s just too hard to keep up. I don’t need the pressure or guilt if I don’t get round to them. Crazy isn’t it! I’m sure you’ll find a healthy balance Bulldog. 🙂

  11. Many happy blogging returns, Bulldog! Three years is the end of the road for many blogs? Uh -oh. I’ll be hitting three years in March…
    Love the duck pic. I have visions of a zoom lens the length of a Napoleonic canon to see so far… do you have a wheelbarrow to carry it?

  12. Do you think you should throw the old one in the car in case of ‘hiccoughs’.

    Gosh, that zoom on your new camera is amazing. I assume you’re using a tripod? Love your old photos anyway, but this new camera is incredible. Can’t wait to see some more results after your trip.

    And yes, I read somewhere that 3 years is supposed to be the average length of a blog.

    • Where I go the old one goes with… funny I still use it for certain type shots where I have as yet not mastered the new ones settings… I love both cameras and even though I’ve had an offer to purchase the old camera I won’t be parting with it…

  13. We LOVE your blogs no matter what you post – your photos are always awesome. I loved them with the old camera so the new one has a lot of expectations to live up to! 🙂

All comments are welcome... please...Write something.. go on, let your voice be heard...

