Rufous-naped Lark

Rufous-naped Lark (Mirafra africana)

it is fairly common to common in a wide variety of open habitats with grass, such as savannah, open woodland grassy fynbos, fallow fields and open ground near cultivated land. It dislikes dense grassland, as it prefers having bare patches of soil for foraging and scattered bush and fence poles to use for singing.

It mainly eats arthropods supplemented with seeds, doing most of its foraging on the ground, gleaning food from the bases of plants and taking termites as they emerge from their mound.

This little fellow was so vocal… I heard him long before I saw him… and even then he continued to perform, before flying off….

Rietvlei 18-10-2012 003

 

Rietvlei 18-10-2012 006

30 thoughts on “Rufous-naped Lark

    • He is actually quite a active bird… sitting screaming away looking for a mate… he jumps around flapping his wings , I assume to attract a females attention… they must all think he’s very noisy..

    • I can assure you I miss at least 75 % of all the good shots I could get… most are being lucky and knowing how to creep up on them… quick fingers do help… an awful lot of my photos are taken from hides or out of my car.. where they struggle to see me…

      • We have magpies. When I first moved out west I thought they were pretty but soon found out why so many people can’t stand them. They have an awful sounding noise they make and they are quite aggressive and attack and kill smaller birds quite brutally I might add and they even have the audacity to go after hawks in flight!

All comments are welcome... please...Write something.. go on, let your voice be heard...

