You Know You Are A Proud South African When…

A little bit of humour I picked up on the Internet….

 

426029_475345819191081_1849130484_n

YOU ARE PROUDLY SOUTH AFRICAN WHEN:

# You call a bathing suit a a "kossie".

# You call a traffic light a "robot".

# You call an elevator a "lift"

# You call a car hood a "bonnet"

# You call a car trunk a "boot"

# You call a pickup truck a "bakkie"

# You call a Barbeque a "Braai"

# Employee s dance and sing in front of the building to show how unhappy they are.

# You get cold easily. Anything below 16 degrees Celsius is Arctic weather.

# You know what Rooibos Tea is, even if you’ve never had any.

#You can sing your national anthem in four languages and you have no idea what it means in any of them.

# You know someone who knows someone who has met Nelson Mandela.

# You go to braais regularly, where you eat boerewors and swim, sometimes simultaneously.

# You produce a R100 note instead of your driver’s licence when stopped by a traffic officer.

# You can do your monthly shopping on the pavement!!!!!

# You have to hire a security guard whenever you park your car.

# You know a taxi can carry twice its certified number of people in one trip.

#You travel 100’s of kilometres to see snow.

# You know the rules of Rugby better than any referee!

# More people vote in a local reality TV show than in a local election.

# People have the most wonderful names: Christmas, Goodwill, Pretty, Wednesday, Blessing, Brilliant, Gift, Precious, Innocence, Given, Patience, Portion, and Coronation.

# "Now now" or "just now" can mean anything from a minute to a month.

# You start every sentence with yes/no or ja/nee.

#You continue to wait after a traffic light has turned to green to make way for taxis travelling in the opposite direction.

# Travelling at 120 km/h, you’re the slowest vehicle on the freeway.

# A bullet train is being introduced, but potholes can’t be fixed.

# The last time you visited the coast you paid more in speeding fines and toll fees than you did for the entire holiday.

# You have to prove that you don’t need a loan to get one.

# Prisoners, Doctors and Nurses go on strike.

# You don’t stop at red traffic lights, just in case somebody hijacks your car.

# Rwandan refugees start leaving the country because the crime rate is too high.

# You consider a high crime rate as normal.

43 thoughts on “You Know You Are A Proud South African When…

  1. All actually more true than otherwise. It starts relatively lightheartedly, but some of them remind us that we really do have some very major problems with what is becoming the norm.

  2. Some of those are pretty universal like waiting a bit before driving after the red light changes…and not just for taxis! And I have some rooibus tea in the cupboard now 🙂 Doesn’t everyone call them flip flops?

  3. In Australia – we also call a bathing suit a “kossie, an elevator a “lift”, a car hood a “bonnet” and a car trunk a “boot” 😀

    I love this post, Bulldog! It gave me a really good chuckle (and I love the pics with the coments!) 😀

    • Thanks Dianne, yes coming from the Southern Hemisphere you would probably agree with the most of these…lol.. I hope everyone realised it was tongue in cheek…

    • My experience in America certainly made me think a few of them there certainly thought that… when we flew back there was a group of American students on the plane , and I got talking to a few of them.. (knowing SA well from the air) when we approached or neared Johannesburg our biggest city, we flew over one of the smaller towns and the two sitting behind us commented that we were flying over a built up area, “must be one of the cities” was the comment… I recognised it as one of our smaller villages… when we neared Joburg I heard the comment “My God they’ve got skyscrapers!!” my comment “did you expect mud huts??” “partially” the answer.. we did all have a good laugh…

    • I have always thought our taxis a real South African experience.. ’till I went to New York and rode in those yellow things… I think in the one I sucked half of the seat up my rear end and wanted to climb out half way through the trip… I said then that those guys could learn a lot from our taxis…lol

  4. Ja nee. 🙂 You forgot about the takkies for trainers. I got caught out with the “just now” when we first arrived in SA. We went to buy a car, and the salesman said, “I’ll be with you just now.” He came back 45 minutes later, after taking someone else for a test drive. 🙂

  5. Oh bulldog, I will send you some snow! It is late February variety and it is certainly dirty, but that just adds some local flavor ;D

  6. I loved it, Bulldog! It was hilarious! -You can sing your national anthem in four languages and you have no idea what it means in any of them. – that is sooo funny!

  7. The crime rate in South Africa is a problem for me, so I would prolly not spend a holiday there – even though there are a lot of wonderful places. Parts of my family lived there (now Zimbabwe). I enjoy your posts and this one was great as always 🙂

    • The crime rate is way over stated.. I probably know more people who know people who have met Nelson Mandela, than I know people who know people who have been affected by crime… I know people who have been affected by crime in Zimbabwe.. but not here…

All comments are welcome... please...Write something.. go on, let your voice be heard...