On the wings of love….

Just smile for me and let the day begin
You are the sunshine that lights my heart within
I’m sure that you’re an angel in disguise
Come take my hand and together we will rise

Thanks to Jeffrey Osborne for the lyrics of  – On The Wings Of Love

Whilst at the bird hide, a certain white-throated swallow came and perch near at hand begging to have its photo taken. The wind was blowing and it kept its pose as I moved to as near as possibleโ€ฆ

S0152324

S0152322

S0142320

It then dropped off the security wire to a reed nearbyโ€ฆ..

S0192356

S0192355

54 thoughts on “On the wings of love….

  1. We tend to get so mesmerized by the “Lornas” that we sometimes forget to give the little guys their due. He’s really sweet. And the photos with the particularly soft blue background really show how special he is!

    • When I can hear it I do too…. but when in the city like this with the background noise I can’t hear the birds… deafness creeps on relentlessly denying me this pleasure in the city…

    • Thanks Diana… yes the birds here are of a very colourful sort, but you mustn’t forget that we also have about 200 birds with very little distinguishing colours, these we call LBJ’s (Little Brown Jobs)

  2. What a pretty bird. And the lines you quoted are now playing in my head. That song became very popular in my homecountry when two of our most popular singers revived the song. It is really nice though with its romantic lyrics and soaring vocals.

  3. I just love swallows. Between the beak and the tail, they have a very distinctive look. I love the background coloring on those first three photos. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Thanks these are all over the place and such friendly little guys…. they even nest where humans are within easy reach of them…. I think they know where they are loved and there they nest and raise their young….

  4. What really jumped out at me in this post is your reference to the security wire. I guess I’ve never really thought about the “hides” you’ve mentioned in the past. I thought of them as “blinds” like hunters use, but now I’m not so sure.
    I’ve never seen wire like the one your little bird is sitting on. Do you build your own hide? Are they for protection against wildlife? … or literally a hidden space?

    • The hides are as you thought they were…. this facility is the Austin Roberts Memorial Bird Sanctuary, situated in the middle of Pretoria one of our three capital cities… Austin Roberts was South Africas greatest ornithologist mammalogist yet. The facility has certain protected specie in large enclosures that are so big one is lucky to see these birds sometimes… to protect them the park is surrounded by a security fence to protect the animals… hell if they hunt and poach our rhinos they would probably do the same to these animals and any small deterrence is placed for their protection… during the day the facility is open, free to the public for visits and educational use… a wonderful place to visit… my Crowned and blue cranes are here, not that I get so lucky to see them every visit… here’s an interesting link if you wish to read a bit more… http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Austin_Roberts_Bird_Sanctuary

  5. Wow what electric BLUE beauty in this small winged creature made by our Heavenly Father. Bulldog you captured its magnificence in your lens as you normally do. Thanks for sharing.

  6. wow, he is beautiful – his blue is so gorgeous in contrast to the white. Beautifully captured and he didn’t seem to mind at all – almost saying “did you get me”, “can you still see me”

All comments are welcome... please...Write something.. go on, let your voice be heard...

